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100 PROOFCOMPUTATION OF TAX LIABILITY

(Gallons) (Gallons)

1. Total passenger miles 1.

2. 2.Passenger miles in California

3. 3.Percentage of miles in California  (divide line 2 by line 1)

Total number of bottles sold4. 4.

Bottles sold in California  (multiply line 3 by line 4)5. 5.

Size of bottle 6.6.

7.Total milliliters or liters sold  (multiply line 5 by line 6)7.

8. Total gallons of distilled spirits sold in California

(multiply line 7 by conversion factor - see instructions on back)

8.

9. Rate of tax per wine gallon 9. $ $

10.Amount of tax  (multiply line 8 by line 9) $10. $

$11. Total tax due  (add columns A and B of line 10) 11.

$12.PENALTY12. Penalty  (if filed after due date, see instructions on back)

INTEREST: One month's interest is due on tax for each month or fraction of a month that payment 
is delayed after the due date. The adjusted monthly interest rate is
For assistance, see CDTFA website for Interest Calculator.

13.
13. $INTEREST

14. $14. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE   (add lines 11, 12, and 13)

Make check or money order payable to California Department of Tax and Fee Administration.
Always write your account number on your check or money order. Make a copy of this document for your records.

I hereby certify that this return, including any accompanying schedules and statements, has been

examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is a true, correct, and complete return.

SIGNATURE DATEPRINT NAME AND TITLE

( )

EMAIL ADDRESS

TELEPHONE

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF 
TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION 
RETURN PROCESSING BRANCH 
PO BOX 942879 
SACRAMENTO, CA 94279-6073

https://services.cdtfa.ca.gov/boewebservices/interestCalculation.jsp


CDTFA-501-DC (BACK) REV. 11 (4-18)

INSTRUCTIONS - COMMON CARRIERS TAX RETURN

GENERAL

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) administers the California 

Alcoholic Beverage Tax Law (Revenue and Taxation Code section 32001. et seq.) in cooperation 

with the Board of Equalization. The law includes the state excise tax imposed upon common carriers 

engaged in interstate or foreign passenger service making sales of distilled spirits in California.

FILING REQUIREMENTS

Each common carrier must file a return on or before the first day of the second calendar month 

following the month in which the sales were made, together with a remittance for the amount due for 

that period.

PREPARATION OF RETURN

The method for computing distilled spirits sales in California is based on the ratio that passenger 

miles in California bears to total passenger miles. The ratio of passenger miles in California may be 

adjusted by tests when significant changes occur in routes, schedules, or other operating conditions. 

The tests will be subject to review by the CDTFA.

All distilled spirits must be reported in wine gallons. Round the resulting figure to the nearest gallon.

Gallonage conversion factors: 1. One milliliter = .000264172 gallons

2. One liter = .264172 gallons

PENALTY FOR LATE FILING

The state law imposes a penalty for the late filing of this return regardless of whether any tax is due. 

The penalty is $50.00 or 10 percent (0.10) of the amount of tax due, whichever is greater. The CDTFA 

is authorized by law, for good cause, to extend the time for the filing of this return not to exceed one 

month. Any request for an extension should be made in writing addressed to the CDTFA in 

Sacramento.

If you need additional information, please contact the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, Return Processing 
Branch, P.O. Box 942879, Sacramento, CA 94279-0088. You may also visit the CDTFA website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov or call the 
Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711); from the main menu, select the option Special Taxes and Fees.

Payments: To make your payment online, go to our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov and select Make a Payment.

You can also pay by credit card on our website, or by calling 1-855-292-8931. If paying by check or money 

order, be sure to include your account number.

www.cdtfa.ca.gov
www.cdtfa.ca.gov
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