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Initial Statement of Reasons for the Proposed Adoption of 

California Code of Regulations, Title 18, Division 2, Chapter 8.2, Lead-Acid 

Battery Fees, Section 3210, Definitions, Section 3220, Manufacturer Battery Fee,  

Section 3230, California Battery Fee, and Section 3240, Written Certification 

SPECIFIC PURPOSES, PROBLEMS INTENDED TO BE ADDRESSED, NECESSITY, AND 
ANTICIPATED BENEFITS 

Current Law 

Assembly Bill No. (AB) 2153 (Stats. 2016, ch. 666) added article 10.5 (commencing with 
section 25215), the Lead-Acid Battery Recycling Act of 2016 (Battery Recycling Act), to 
chapter 6.5 of division 20 of the Health and Safety Code (HSC).  As relevant here, AB 2153 
added HSC section 25215.25 to impose a California battery fee (CBF) on persons purchasing 
replacement lead-acid batteries from a dealer, on and after April 1, 2017.  AB 2153 also added 
HSC section 25215.35 to impose a manufacturer battery fee (MBF) on manufacturers of lead-
acid batteries, on and after April 1, 2017.  Also, AB 142 (Stats. 2019, ch. 860) amended the 
Battery Recycling Act and made several changes to the CBF and MBF. 

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 

The Governor approved AB 102 (Stats. 2017, ch. 16) on June 27, 2017.  AB 102 established the 
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (Department) and transferred the State 
Board of Equalization’s (Board’s) duties, powers, and responsibilities to administer and enforce 
the sales and use taxes and the taxes and fees collected pursuant to the Fee Collection Procedures 
Law (FCPL) (Rev. & Tax. Code (RTC), § 55001 et seq.), including the MBF and CBF, to the 
Department, effective July 1, 2017.  (Gov. Code (GC), §§ 15570, 15570.22).  Accordingly, any 
references to the Board in the Battery Recycling Act, the RTC sections, including the FCPL 
sections, and the regulations cited herein currently refer to and mean the Department pursuant to 
GC section 15570.24 and RTC section 20.5.  Also, references to the Department’s activities 
before July 1, 2017, herein refer to and mean the Board’s activities. 

Manufacturer Battery Fee 

Until April 1, 2022, a MBF of one dollar ($1.00) is “imposed on a manufacturer of lead-acid 
batteries for each lead-acid battery it sells at retail to a person in California or that it sells to a 
dealer, wholesaler, distributor, or other person for retail sale in California.”  (HSC, § 25215.35, 
subd. (a).)  On and after April 1, 2022, the amount of the MBF is two dollars ($2.00).  (HSC, § 
25215.35, subd. (b).) 

A lead-acid battery “manufacturer” is defined in the Battery Recycling Act to mean either of the 
following: 

(1)  The person who manufactures the lead-acid battery and who sells, offers for 
sale, or distributes the lead-acid battery in the state. 
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(2)(A)  If there is no person described in paragraph (1) that is subject to the 
jurisdiction of the state, the manufacturer is the person who imports the lead-acid 
battery into the state for sale or distribution.  (HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (h).) 

Also, the Battery Recycling Act provides that “a person is subject to the jurisdiction of this state 
with respect to a lead-acid battery if the person is engaged in business in this state” and “a person 
shall be considered to be engaged in business in this state if the person is a ‘retailer engaged in 
business in this state,’ as defined in subdivision (c) of [RTC section 6203], with respect to that 
lead-acid battery, or if the person has a substantial nexus with this state for purposes of the 
commerce clause of the United States Constitution.”  (HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (h)(2)(B).) 

A lead-acid battery “importer” is defined in the Battery Recycling Act to mean “the person who 
imports the lead-acid battery into the state for sale or distribution.” (HSC, § 25215.1, subds. (e) 
and (h)(2).)  A person who manufactures a lead-acid battery but is not subject to California’s 
jurisdiction “may agree in writing with the importer of that lead-acid battery to pay the MBF on 
behalf of the importer.”  (HSC, § 25215.3, subd. (a).)  A person who pays the manufacturer 
battery fee on behalf of an importer pursuant to such an agreement shall be credited for that 
payment, pursuant to HSC section 25215.56, if the person: 

1. Submits to California’s jurisdiction and registers with the Department to pay and remit 
the MBF; 

2. Provides to the importer a statement that includes the person’s manufacturer account 
number with the Department, an identification of the lead-acid battery or batteries sold 
that will be subject to the MBF, and a “statement that the person will pay the [MBF] to 
the state on behalf of the importer”; and 

3. Retains records sufficient to document that the lead-acid battery or batteries for which the 
person has agreed to pay the MBF were delivered for retail sale in California, the identity 
of the importer, and that the required statement was provided to the importer of the 
battery or batteries in a timely manner.  (HSC, § 25215.3, subd. (b)) 

An importer that receives a timely statement from such a manufacturer will be relieved from any 
obligation for the MBF on the lead-acid battery or batteries, provided that the manufacturer 
remits the MBF on the sale of the battery or batteries to the Department.  An importer that has 
paid the MBF for a lead-acid battery or batteries that subsequently receives an untimely 
statement from such a manufacturer may file a claim for a refund.  A statement shall be 
considered timely if it is issued before the person paying the MBF on behalf of the importer bills 
the importer for the lead-acid battery or batteries, within the person’s normal billing and payment 
cycle, before delivery of the battery or batteries to the importer, or before the date on which a 
return would be due pursuant to HSC section 25215.47.  (HSC, § 25215.3, subd. (c).)  Also, the 
Department is authorized to disclose to an importer the amount of the MBF paid or not paid on 
its behalf, and the Department is generally authorized to disclose specified information about 
persons registered with the Department to pay the MBF to the public.  (HSC, § 25215.48.) 

A “lead-acid battery” is defined in the Battery Recycling Act to mean “a battery weighing over 
five kilograms [(approximately 11 pounds)] that is primarily composed of both lead and sulfuric 
acid, whether [the] sulfuric acid is in a liquid, solid, or gel state, with a capacity of six volts or 
more that is used for any of the following purposes: 
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(1)  As a starting battery that is designed to deliver a high burst of energy to an 
internal combustion engine until it starts. 
(2)  As a motive power battery that is designed to provide the source of power for 
propulsion or operation of a vehicle, including a watercraft. 
(3)  As a stationary storage or standby battery that is designed to be used in 
systems where the battery acts as either electrical storage for electricity generation 
equipment or a source of emergency power, or otherwise serves as a backup in 
case of failure or interruption in the flow of power from the primary source. 
(4)  As a source of auxiliary power to support the electrical systems in a vehicle, 
as defined in Section 670 of the Vehicle Code, including an implement of 
husbandry, as defined in Section 36000 of the Vehicle Code, or an aircraft.” 
(HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (f).)  

Also, the Battery Recycling Act provides that the terms “retail sale” and “sale at retail” have the 
same meaning as defined in RTC section 6007 in the Sales and Use Tax Law (RTC, § 6001 et 
seq.).  (HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (p)(1).)  RTC section 6007, subdivision (a), provides that: 

(1)  A “retail sale” or “sale at retail” means a sale for a purpose other than resale 
in the regular course of business in the form of tangible personal property. 
(2)  When tangible personal property is delivered by an owner or former owner 
thereof, or by a factor or agent of that owner, former owner, or factor to a 
consumer or to a person for redelivery to a consumer, pursuant to a retail sale 
made by a retailer not engaged in business in this state, the person making the 
delivery shall be deemed the retailer of that property.  He or she shall include the 
retail selling price of the property in his or her gross receipts or sales price. 

In addition, the Battery Recycling Act provides that the term retail sale does not include any of 
the following: 

(A)  The sale of a battery for which a CBF has previously been paid.  
(B)  The sale of a replacement lead-acid battery that is temporarily stored or used 
in California for the sole purpose of preparing the replacement lead-acid battery 
for use thereafter solely outside of the state and that is subsequently transported 
outside the state and thereafter used solely outside of the state. 
(C)  The sale of a battery for incorporation into new equipment for subsequent 
resale. 
(D)  The replacement of a lead-acid battery pursuant to a warranty or a vehicle 
service contract described under Insurance Code section 12800. 
(E)  The sale of any battery intended for use with or contained within a medical 
device, as defined in the federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 
321(h)) as that definition may be amended.  (HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (p)(2).) 

If a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose excluding it from the 
MBF, the Battery Recycling Act requires the manufacturer to “obtain written documentation 
from the purchaser certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose 
entitling the manufacturer to regard the purchase as not subject to the manufacturer battery fee.”  
(HSC, § 25215.35, subd. (d)(1).)  If a purchaser provides such a written certification to a 
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manufacturer and subsequently sells or uses the battery in a manner so that no exception to the 
MBF applies, the purchaser is liable for payment of the MBF on that battery to the Department.  
(HSC, § 25215.35, subd. (d)(2).) 

California Battery Fee  

Except as provided below, the CBF is imposed on a person for each replacement lead-acid 
battery purchased from a dealer on or after April 1, 2017.  (HSC, § 25215.25, subd. (a)(1).)  The 
CBF is one dollar ($1.00) until March 31, 2022, and two dollars ($2.00) on or after 
April 1, 2022.  (Ibid.) 

A “replacement lead-acid battery” is defined in the Battery Recycling Act to mean “a new lead-
acid battery that is sold at retail subsequent to the original sale or lease of the equipment or 
vehicle in which the lead-acid battery is intended to be used” and “does not include a spent, 
discarded, refurbished, reconditioned, rebuilt, or reused lead-acid battery.”  (HSC, § 25215.1, 
subd. (n).)  A “used lead-acid battery” is defined to mean “a lead-acid battery no longer fully 
capable of providing the power for which it was designed or that a person no longer wants for 
any other reason.”  (HSC, § 25215.1, subd. (q).) 

The CBF does not apply to a replacement lead-acid battery described in HSC section 25215.1, 
subdivision (f)(3), which is a lead-acid battery used as a stationary storage or standby battery that 
is designed to be used in systems where the battery acts as either electrical storage for electricity 
generation equipment or a source of emergency power, or otherwise serves as a backup in case 
of failure or interruption in the flow of power from the primary source.  (HSC, § 25215.25, subd. 
(a)(1).)  Also, on and after January 1, 2020, “if a new motor vehicle dealer sells or leases to a 
person a used vehicle into which the new motor vehicle dealer has incorporated a replacement 
lead-acid battery, the [CBF] . . . shall not apply to the person with regard to that replacement 
lead-acid battery.”  (HSC, § 25215.25, subd. (c).) 

Dealers are required to collect the CBF from purchasers at the time of sale, dealers may retain 
1.5 percent (0.015) of the fee collected as reimbursement for any costs associated with collecting 
the fee, and dealers are required to pay the remainder of the fee collected to the Department.  
(HSC, § 25215.25, subd. (a)(3).)  “A person who purchases a replacement lead-acid battery in 
this state is liable for the [CBF] until that fee has been paid to the [Department], except that 
payment to a dealer registered under [the Battery Recycling Act] is sufficient to relieve the 
person from further liability” for the CBF.  (HSC, § 25215.25, subd. (a)(5).)  The term “dealer” 
is defined in the Battery Recycling Act to mean “a person who engages in the retail sale of 
replacement lead-acid batteries directly to persons in California” and the term “includes a 
manufacturer of a new lead-acid battery that sells at retail that lead-acid battery directly to a 
person through any means, including, but not limited to, a transaction conducted through a sales 
outlet, catalog, or internet website or any other similar electronic means.”  (HSC, § 25215.1, 
subd. (d).) 

“If a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the dealer to 
regard the purchase as not subject to the [CBF], the dealer shall obtain written documentation 
from the purchaser certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose 
entitling the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the [CBF].”  (HSC § 25215.25, subd. 
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(d)(1).)  If a purchaser provides such a written certification to a dealer and subsequently sells or 
uses the battery in a manner so that no exception to the CBF applies, the purchaser is liable for 
payment of the CBF to the Department.  (HSC, § 25215.25, subd. (d)(2).) 

Administration 

The Battery Recycling Act provides that the MBF and CBF are to be collected by the 
Department in accordance with the FCPL.  (HSC, § 25215.45, subd. (a)(1).)  The Battery 
Recycling Act expressly authorizes the Department to adopt and enforce regulations relating to 
the administration and enforcement of the MBF and CBF.  (HSC, § 25215.74, subd. (a).)  Also, 
California Code of Regulations (CCR), title 18, section (Regulation or Reg.) 4901, Records, 
currently prescribes the records that a feepayer must maintain and make available to determine 
its correct liability for fees collected in accordance with the FCPL. 

Sales and Use Tax Law 

California imposes sales tax on retailers for the privilege of selling tangible personal property at 
retail in the state.  (RTC, § 6051.)  The sales tax applies to a retailer’s gross receipts from the 
retail sale of tangible personal property in California, unless an exemption or exclusion applies.  
(RTC, §§ 6012, 6051.) 

When sales tax does not apply, use tax is imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption in 
California of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer for storage, use, or other 
consumption in this state.  (RTC, §§ 6201, 6401.)  As relevant here, “storage” includes any 
keeping or retention of tangible personal property in this state for any purpose except sale in the 
regular course of business.  (RTC, § 6008.)  “Use” includes the exercise of any right or power 
over tangible personal property incident to the ownership of that property, except the sale of that 
property in the regular course of business.  (RTC, § 6009.)  Also, the person storing, using, or 
otherwise consuming the property is liable for the use tax, unless an exemption or exclusion 
applies.  (RTC, §§ 6201, 6202.)  However, every “retailer engaged in business in this state” as 
defined in RTC section 6203 and making sales of tangible personal property for storage, use, or 
other consumption in this state must collect the use tax from their customers, give the customers 
a receipt as prescribed, and then report and pay the amount required to be collected to the 
Department.  (RTC, § 6203; Reg. 1684, Collection of Use Tax by Retailers.)  And subdivision 
(c) of RTC section 6203 generally provides that “retailer engaged in business in this state” means 
“any retailer that has substantial nexus with this state for purposes of the commerce clause of the 
United States Constitution and any retailer upon whom federal law permits this state to impose a 
use tax collection duty.” 

The Sales and Use Tax Law presumes that a retailer’s sales of tangible personal property are 
subject to sales or use tax until the contrary is established and places the burden of proving that a 
sale of tangible personal property is not a sale at retail upon the person who makes the sale, 
unless the seller takes from the purchaser a certificate to the effect that the property is purchased 
for resale.  (RTC, §§ 6091, 6241.)  The Sales and Use Tax Law provides that the certificate 
relieves the seller from liability for sales tax or the duty to collect use tax only if taken in good 
faith from a person engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property (RTC, §§ 6092, 
6242) and requires a properly completed certificate to be signed by and bear the name and 
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address of the purchaser, and indicate the general character of the tangible personal property sold 
by the purchaser in the regular course of business.  (RTC, §§ 6093, 6243.)  Regulation 1668, 
Sales for Resale, prescribes all the requirements for a document to be regarded as a properly 
completed resale certificate, including the requirement that the certificate include the purchaser’s 
seller’s permit number or a sufficient explanation as to the reason the purchaser is not required to 
hold a seller’s permit in lieu of a seller’s permit number.  Regulation 1668 requires a retailer to 
timely accept a properly completed resale certificate in good faith to satisfy its burden of proof.  
Regulation 1668 also permits purchasers to issue a “blanket” resale certificate containing a 
general description of the items to be purchased and covering those items, unless otherwise 
specified on the purchase order, or a “qualified” resale certificate that only covers items that are 
designated as purchased for resale on a purchase order. 

The Sales and Use Tax Law also expressly provides for purchasers to issue certificates to 
retailers certifying that the property purchased will be used in a manner or for a purpose that is 
exempt from sales tax and that such an exemption certificate relieves the seller from liability for 
sales tax only if taken in good faith.  (RTC, § 6421.)  Also, Regulation 1667, Exemption 
Certificates, presumes, for purposes of the proper administration of the Sales and Use Tax Law, 
that a retailer’s gross receipts are subject to tax until the contrary is established, and provides that 
a retailer may rebut the presumption and be relieved of liability for the tax by timely taking a 
properly completed exemption certificate from the purchaser in good faith, in accordance with 
the regulation. 

In addition, subdivision (c)(4) of Regulation 1655, Returns, Defects and Replacements, provides 
that “[a] deductible paid by a customer under the terms of a mandatory or optional warranty 
contract is subject to [sales and use] tax measured by the amount of the deductible allocable to 
the sale of tangible personal property to the customer.”  Also, Regulation 1706, Drop Shipments, 
implements, interprets, and makes specific the provisions defining “retail sale” and “sale at 
retail” in RTC section 6007, subdivision (a)(2), for sales and use tax purposes.  Subdivision (b) 
of Regulation 1706 explains that: 

A drop shipment generally involves two separate sales. The true retailer [who is 
not a retailer engaged in business in this state] contracts to sell tangible personal 
property to a consumer. The true retailer then contracts to purchase that property 
from a supplier and instructs that supplier to ship the property directly to the 
consumer. The supplier is a drop shipper. A drop shipper that is a retailer engaged 
in business in this state is reclassified as the retailer and is liable for tax [unless 
the sale is exempt]. When more than two separate sales are involved, the person 
liable for the applicable tax as the drop shipper is the first person who is a retailer 
engaged in business in this state in the series of transactions beginning with the 
purchase by the true retailer. 

So, a retail sale, as defined by RTC section 6007, subdivision (a)(2), is commonly referred to as 
a “drop shipment” in accordance with Regulation 1706. 
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Marketplace Facilitators 

Furthermore, AB 147 (Stats. 2019, ch. 5) added the Marketplace Facilitator Act (MFA) (RTC, § 
6040 et seq.) to the Sales and Use Tax Law, operative October 1, 2019, to generally make a 
marketplace facilitator, as defined in RTC section 6041, that facilitates a retail sale of tangible 
personal property by a marketplace seller the retailer selling or making the sale of the property 
for sales and use tax purposes.  (RTC, § 6043.)  Also, AB 1402 (Stats. 2021, ch. 421) added RTC 
section 6043.1 to the MFA, operative January 1, 2022, to generally make a marketplace 
facilitator, as defined in RTC section 6041, that facilitates a retail sale of a replacement lead-acid 
battery by a marketplace seller the dealer for purposes of collecting and remitting the CBF 
imposed on the consumer in regard to that retail sale. 

Proposed Chapter and Regulations 

Issues Created by AB 2153 that Continue to be Issues After AB 142 

The Department determined that AB 2153 created the following issues (or problems within the 
meaning of GC, § 11346.2) with the Battery Recycling Act that continue to be issues that were 
not addressed by AB 142: 

• The act clarifies that the MBF may not be imposed on a person that manufactured a lead-
acid battery, unless that person is subject to the jurisdiction of this state, but it does not 
clarify that the MBF cannot be imposed on an importer or that a dealer may not be 
required to collect the CBF, unless they are subject to the jurisdiction of the state. 

• The act refers to “equipment” in the statutory definition of “replacement lead-acid 
battery” and refers to “new equipment” in the statutory definition of “retail sale” and 
“sale at retail,” but does not define the terms “equipment” and “new equipment.” 

• The act defines a “replacement lead-acid battery” in part to mean a “new lead-acid 
battery,” but it does not clarify what “new” means. 

• The act uses the term “vehicle” in the statutory definition of “lead-acid battery” without 
defining the term. 

• The act excludes from the definition of “retail sale” the sale of a replacement lead-acid 
battery that is “temporarily stored or used in California,” but it does not clarify what 
“temporarily stored or used in California” means. 

• The act excludes from the definition of “retail sale” the sale of a lead-acid battery that is 
incorporated into new equipment for resale, but it does not clarify whether the battery and 
new equipment must be sold together as a single item for the sale of the battery to qualify 
for the exclusion. 

• The act excludes from the definition of “retail sale” the sale of a battery for which a CBF 
has previously been paid. but it does not clarify whether the MBF applies to sales of 
batteries for which the MBF was previously paid. 

• The act does not expressly clarify that, under the statutory definition of “manufacturer,” 
only one person may be the manufacturer of a lead-acid battery for purposes of the MBF. 

• The act does not expressly clarify that the MBF applies to different sales transactions 
depending upon whether the MBF is being imposed on a person who manufactured the 
lead-acid battery or the person who imported the battery into the state and does not 



Page 8 of 19 

clarify that importing a lead-acid battery into California, by itself, does not trigger 
imposition of the MBF. 

• The act does not provide guidance to manufacturers and dealers about how to determine 
the purpose for which a battery will be used for purposes of determining whether the 
battery is a lead-acid battery as defined in the act. 

• The act does not clarify whether there is a retail sale when a consumer is required to pay 
a separate charge to receive a lead-acid battery as a replacement under a warranty or 
vehicle service contract, as there would be under Sales and Use Tax Regulation 1655. 

• The act does not establish presumptions regarding whether sales are retail sales, whether 
lead-acid batteries will be resold at retail for purposes of the MBF, or whether sales and 
purchases of lead-acid batteries are excluded from the MBF or CBF that are necessary for 
the proper administration of the act. 

• The act does not expressly clarify whether the CBF applies to lead-acid batteries 
purchased from dealers for resale. 

• Manufacturers required to pay the MBF and dealers required to collect the CBF may not 
realize that they are required to maintain and make available records in accordance with 
Regulation 4901. 

As a result of the forgoing issues, the Department drafted new chapter 8.2, Lead-Acid Battery 
Fees, to be added to division 2 of title 18 of the CCR, and Regulations 3210, Definitions, 3220, 
Manufacturer Battery Fee, 3230, California Battery Fee, and 3240, Exclusion Certificates, to be 
included in new chapter 8.2, for the specific purpose of addressing these issues. 

2017 Interested Party Meetings and Discussion Papers 

The Department drafted an initial discussion paper regarding the new regulations, which was 
provided to the interested parties on March 24, 2017, and held an interested party meeting on 
April 13, 2017.  The interested parties voiced concerns at the meeting and the Department 
received written comments from the Department of Toxic Substances Control and Battery 
Council International (BCI).  As relevant here, industry was concerned that: 

• The act defines “retail sale” as having the same meaning as RTC section 6007, but it 
does not clarify that retail sales include drop shipments under RTC section 6007, 
subdivision (a)(2). 

• The act does not specify the requirements for purchasers to issue valid exclusion and 
exemption certificates to manufacturers and dealers in instances where the sale of a 
battery is not subject to the MBF and/or CBF and does not specify when manufacturers 
and dealers are required to obtain such certificates. 

• It would be impractical for a business that buys large quantities of lead-acid batteries 
from overseas and then temporarily stores them in California for the sole purpose of 
selling them outside the state to issue a separate exclusion certificate for each battery 
purchased. 

Therefore, the Department revised proposed Regulations 3210 through 3240 for the specific 
purpose of addressing those issues (or problems).  The Department drafted a second discussion 
paper dated May 26, 2017, that discussed the revised regulations.  The Department also held a 
second interested party meeting on June 8, 2017, and no new issues were identified at that time. 
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Formal Issue Paper 

The Department prepared a Formal Issue Paper dated May 21, 2018, for the Director and 
recommended that the Department propose to adopt the revised versions of the new regulations 
for the specific purpose of addressing the issues with the Battery Recycling Act discussed above.  
The Director approved the recommendation, and the approved regulations and issue paper were 
posted on the Department’s website on June 21, 2018. 

Amendments to the Battery Recycling Act 

The Legislature considered enacting AB 1663 in 2017 and 2018, and the Department paused the 
rulemaking process in 2018 because AB 1663 could have resolved some of the issues regarding 
the Battery Recycling Act discussed above.  Although AB 1663 was not enacted, AB 142 was 
enacted in 2019 and made significant amendments to the Battery Recycling Act that are included 
in the above discussion of the act. 

Additional Issues After AB 142 

As relevant here, the Department determined that the following additional issues (or problems) 
with the Battery Recycling Act needed to be addressed by the proposed regulations after the 
enactment of AB 142: 

• The act defines the term importer to mean “the person who imports the lead-acid battery 
into the state,” but does not otherwise clarify the meaning of the phrase “person who 
imports the lead-acid battery into this state.” 

• The act establishes an exemption from the CBF that applies when a new motor vehicle 
dealer sells or leases a used vehicle to a person into which the new motor vehicle dealer 
has incorporated a replacement lead-acid battery but does not specify that dealers must 
retain documentation to support the exemption. 

• If a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the 
manufacturer or dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the MBF or CBF, the act 
requires the manufacturer or dealer to obtain written documentation from the purchaser 
certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the 
manufacturer or dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the fee, but the act does 
not specify what other information the written documentation should contain or when the 
written documentation must be obtained. 

As a result, the Department further revised proposed Regulations 3210 through 3240 for the 
specific purpose of addressing these issues, including changing the name of Regulation 3240 to 
“Written Certification.” 

Third Discussion Paper and Third Interested Party Meeting 

The Department drafted a third discussion paper regarding the Battery Recycling Act, new 
chapter 8.2, and revised Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230 and 3240, which was provided to the 
interested parties on May 19, 2020.  The Department held an interested party meeting to discuss 
the revised regulations on June 10, 2020, and the Department received written comments from 
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BCI dated June 26, 2020, and joint written comments from the California Automotive 
Wholesalers’ Association and the Auto Care Association, dated June 26, 2020, regarding the 
revised regulations. 

As relevant here, the industry objected to language in revised Regulations 3230 and 3240 that 
requires dealers selling replacement lead-acid batteries for use as a stationary storage or a 
standby battery to obtain written certifications from their purchasers to establish that their 
purchases are not subject to the CBF.  The industry argued that lead-acid batteries used for these 
purposes are excluded from the CBF under HSC sections 25215.25, subdivision (a)(1), and 
25215.1, subdivision (f)(3).  However, the Department did not make any changes in response to 
the concern because HSC section 25215.25, subdivision (d)(1), expressly provides that “[i]f a 
lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the dealer to regard 
the purchase as not subject to the [CBF], the dealer shall obtain written documentation from the 
purchaser certifying that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling 
the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the [CBF].”  Also, the description of a battery 
on an invoice may not be sufficient for the Department to determine whether the battery will be 
used as a stationary storage or standby battery.  However, a written certification from the 
purchaser stating that a battery will be used as a stationary storage or standby battery in 
accordance with Regulations 3230 and 3240 establishes that the dealer is entitled to regard the 
purchase of that battery as not subject to the CBF and the dealer is not required to collect the 
CBF from the purchaser on the sale of that battery. 

The industry objected to the word “storage” as used in revised Regulation 3230, subdivision (a), 
which states, in part, that “a [CBF] is imposed on a person for each replacement lead-acid battery 
purchased from a dealer in a retail sale for storage, use, or other consumption in California.”  The 
industry argued that HSC section 25215.1, subdivision (p)(2)(B), provides that a battery stored in 
California prior to use in another state is exempt from the CBF and that using the word “storage” 
in Regulation 3230, subdivision (a), will create confusion by suggesting that the mere storage of 
a battery in California will subject the battery to the CBF.  The Department did not make any 
changes to Regulation 3230 in response to the industry’s concern because the word “storage” is 
used in reference to transactions that are retail sales under the Sales and Use Tax Law, which are 
sales for any purpose other than resale, including storage.  Also, the use of the word “storage” in 
subdivision (a) should not create confusion because Regulation 3230, subdivision (b)(3), 
expressly provides that “The [CBF] does not apply to . . . [a] sale of a replacement lead-acid 
battery that is temporarily stored or used in California for the sole purpose of preparing the 
battery for use thereafter solely outside of California and that is subsequently transported outside 
the state and thereafter used solely outside of the state.” 

The industry also raised a concern that revised Regulation 3240 contained information that 
duplicated information in revised Regulations 3220 and 3230, and that the duplication was 
unnecessary and should be avoided.  The Department agreed and removed the duplicative 
language from Regulations 3220 and 3230. 

Additional Issue After AB 1402 

The Department determined that there was an additional issue (or problem) with the Battery 
Recycling Act because it defines “dealer” for purposes of the CBF, but it does not clarify that the 
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term includes a marketplace facilitator that is the “dealer” for purposes of collecting and 
remitting the CBF under RTC section 6043.1 in the MFA. 

Subsequent Changes 

After the interested parties meeting, the Department revised the definition of “dealer” in 
proposed Regulation 3210 to clarify that the term includes a marketplace facilitator, as defined in 
RTC section 6041, that facilitates a retail sale of a replacement lead-acid battery by a 
marketplace seller and is the dealer for purposes of collecting and remitting the CBF imposed on 
the consumer in regard to that retail sale pursuant to RTC section 6043.1.  The Department 
revised the definition of “subject to the jurisdiction of this state” in proposed Regulation 3210 to 
make it consistent with the provisions of HSC section 25215.1(h)(2)(B), which provide that a 
person is subject to the jurisdiction  of this state if they are “engaged in business in this state,” 
and clarify that a person who manufactures a lead-acid battery is not engaged in business in this 
state solely because that person submitted to California’s jurisdiction to pay and remit the MBF 
on behalf of an importer. 

The Department added subdivision (e)(1)(C) to proposed Regulation 3220 to incorporate the 
statutory requirement in subdivision (b)(3) of HSC section 25215.3 that a person who 
manufactures a lead-acid battery and enters into a written agreement to pay the MBF on behalf of 
an importer must retain specific records for a period of no less than four years to receive a credit 
pursuant to HSC section 25215.56, and clarify that they must make the records available to the 
Department pursuant to Regulation 4901.  The Department deleted similar record keeping 
requirements from subdivision (f)(2) of Regulation 3220 and renumbered subdivision (f)(3) as 
subdivision (f)(2).  The Department also revised subdivision (d) of Regulation 3230 to clarify 
that a new motor vehicle dealer must maintain documentation to support the new motor vehicle 
dealer exemption in subdivision (c) of HSC section 25215.25. 

In addition, the Department revised subdivision (a)(1) of Regulation 3240 to clarify that if a 
written certification that a lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling 
the manufacturer to regard the purchase as not subject to the MBF is timely taken from a 
purchaser in proper form as set forth in the regulation and in good faith, the manufacturer is not 
required to pay a MBF on the sale of that battery.  The Department revised subdivision (a)(2) of 
Regulation 3240 to clarify that if a written certification that a lead-acid battery will be used in a 
manner or for a purpose entitling the dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the CBF is 
timely taken from the purchaser in the proper form as set forth in the regulation and in good 
faith, the dealer is not required to collect the CBF from the purchaser on the sale of that battery.  
The Department also added a presumption to subdivision (c) of Regulation 3240 that, in the 
absence of evidence to the contrary, a seller has taken a written certification in good faith if the 
certification contains the essential elements as described in the regulation and otherwise appears 
to be valid on its face, which is consistent with the same presumption in Regulation 1668. 

Proposed Regulations 

After the revisions, proposed Regulation 3210: 

• Defines the term “dealer” in accordance with subdivision (d) of HSC section 25215.1 and 
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clarifies that the term includes a marketplace facilitator, as defined in RTC section 6041, 
that facilitates a retail sale of a replacement lead-acid battery by a marketplace seller and 
is the dealer for purposes of collecting and remitting the CBF imposed on the consumer 
in regard to that retail sale pursuant to RTC section 6043.1. 

• Defines “Department” to mean the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration. 
• Defines “equipment” to mean and include “any tangible personal property that is 

powered in whole or part by a lead-acid battery” and clarifies that equipment is 
considered “new equipment” if it has never been sold to a person in a sale at retail. 

• Defines “importer” and the phrase “person who imports the lead-acid battery into this 
state” to mean the person who imports the lead-acid battery into this state for sale or 
distribution and is subject to the jurisdiction of this state in accordance with subdivisions 
(e) and (h)(2) of HSC section 25215.1, clarifies that a person imports a lead-acid battery 
into this state “if they ship, deliver, transport, or otherwise bring the lead-acid battery into 
this state for sale or distribution,” and clarifies that an “importer does not include a 
common carrier, a contract carrier, or a California consumer who purchases the 
replacement lead-acid battery for their own use.” 

• Defines “lead-acid battery” in accordance with subdivision (f) of HSC section 25215.1 
and clarifies that a lead-acid battery is used for any of the purposes included in the 
definition of lead-acid battery if the battery “is designed to be used” for such purpose. 

• Defines “manufacturer” in accordance with subdivision (h) of HSC section 25215.1, 
clarifies that only one person shall be considered a “manufacturer” of a lead-acid battery 
for purposes of the MBF, and clarifies that a drop shipper of a lead-acid battery is the 
manufacturer of that battery if they are subject to the jurisdiction of this state and no other 
person is the manufacturer. 

• Defines “replacement lead-acid battery” in accordance with subdivision (n) of HSC 
section 25215.1 and clarifies that a lead-acid battery is new if it has not previously been 
purchased in a retail sale for which the CBF was imposed and paid. 

• Defines “retail sale” and “sale at retail” in accordance with subdivision (a)(1) of RTC 
section 6007, clarifies that a “retail sale” includes a drop shipment of a lead-acid battery 
by a drop shipper in accordance with subdivision (a)(2) of RTC section 6007, and 
clarifies that a “retail sale” does not include the five types of transactions expressly 
excluded from the definition of retail sale by subdivision (p)(2) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Establishes a rebuttable presumption that a replacement lead-acid battery is not 
temporarily stored or used in California for the sole purpose of preparing the battery for 
use thereafter solely outside of the state if the battery remains in this state for more than 
90 days after purchase, and clarifies that a battery is not temporarily stored or used in 
California for the sole purpose of preparing the replacement lead-acid battery for use 
thereafter solely outside of the state if there is any functional use of the battery in 
California following its purchase. 

• Clarifies that the sale of a lead-acid battery will only qualify for the exclusion from the 
definition of retail sale provided by subdivision (p)(2)(C) of HSC section 25215.1 if the 
purchaser will incorporate it into new equipment for purposes of reselling the new 
equipment with the battery “such that the battery and the new equipment will be sold 
together as a single item to the consumer” and further clarifies that “this includes multiple 
inter-changeable lead-acid batteries sold with a single piece of new equipment to allow 
continuous operation by exchanging depleted lead-acid batteries so long as the use of 
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multiple lead-acid batteries is required or customary for the usual operation of that new 
equipment.” 

• Clarifies that there is no retail sale under subdivision (p)(2)(D) of HSC section 25215.1 
when a lead-acid battery is replaced without charge to the consumer under a warranty or 
vehicle service contract, but there is a retail sale if a consumer is required to pay a 
separate charge for the lead-acid battery, including a pro-rated price. 

• Explains when a person is “subject to the jurisdiction of this state” in accordance with 
subdivision (h)(2)(B) of HSC section 25215.1 and clarifies that a person who 
manufactures a lead-acid battery is not engaged in business in this state solely because 
the person submitted to the jurisdiction of the state to pay and remit the MBF on behalf of 
an importer under Regulation 3220.

• Defines “vehicle” to mean “any device or machine which can be used to move persons or 
property, including but not limited to, a watercraft, aircraft, vehicle as defined in Vehicle 
Code section 670, or an implement of husbandry as defined in Vehicle Code section 
36000,” and clarifies that “vehicle” does not include a device moved exclusively by 
human power (e.g., a bicycle) or a device used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks, 
as provided in Vehicle Code section 670. 

Proposed Regulation 3220: 

• Prescribes the application of the MBF. 
• Clarifies that only one person is the manufacturer of a lead-acid battery for purposes of 

liability for the MBF, that liability for the MBF is imposed at the time of the 
manufacturer’s retail sale of a lead-acid battery to a consumer in California or at the time 
of the manufacturer’s sale of a lead-acid battery to a dealer, wholesaler, distributor or 
other person for retail sale in California, and that importing a lead-acid battery into 
California, by itself, does not trigger imposition of the MBF. 

• Establishes rebuttable presumptions, for purposes of the proper administration of the 
MBF, that a manufacturer’s sale of a lead-acid battery to a person in California is a retail 
sale and that a lead-acid battery sold to a person in California for purposes of resale in the 
regular course of business will be resold in California in a retail sale, and clarifies that a 
“manufacturer has the burden of proving that a sale of a lead-acid battery is for resale and 
that a lead-acid battery purchased for resale will not be resold in California in a retail 
sale.” 

• Clarifies that the MBF does not apply to a sale of a lead-acid battery for which the 
manufacturer battery fee has previously been paid by a person subject to the jurisdiction 
of this state or a person that registered with the Department to report and pay the fee, and 
does not apply to the four types of transactions expressly excluded from the definition of 
retail sale by subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Clarifies that when the MBF does not apply to a lead-acid battery because it is sold or 
used in a manner or for a purpose excluded from the definition of retail sale by 
subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC section 25215.1, the manufacturer must obtain 
written certification from the purchaser, in accordance with Regulation 3240, stating that 
the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the manufacturer 
to regard the purchase as not subject to the MBF, as required by subdivision (d)(1) of 
HSC section 25215.35. 
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• Incorporates the provisions of subdivision (a) of HSC section 25215.3 permitting a 
person who manufactures a lead-acid battery and is not subject to the jurisdiction of this 
state to enter into a written agreement with the importer of that lead-acid battery to pay 
the MBF imposed on the importer due to the sale of that battery on behalf of the importer. 

• Incorporates the requirements from subdivision (b) of HSC section 25215.3 for a person 
that pays the MBF on behalf of an importer to receive a credit for that payment pursuant 
to HSC section 25215.56 and clarifies that such a person shall make the records required 
to be maintained to claim the credit reasonably available to the Department upon request 
in the manner set forth in Regulation 4901. 

• Incorporates the provisions of subdivision (c) of HSC section 25215.3 relieving an 
importer of liability for the MBF paid on its behalf and permitting an importer to claim a 
refund if they paid the MBF before they received notice that it was paid on their behalf. 

• Incorporates the provisions of HSC section 25215.48 permitting the Department to 
disclose to an importer the amount of the MBF paid or not paid on its behalf, and 
generally permitting the Department to disclose specified information about persons 
registered with the Department to pay the MBF to the public. 

• Provides notice to manufacturers required to pay the MBF that they are required to 
maintain and make available all records necessary to determine their liabilities for the 
MBF and all records necessary for the proper completion of their returns in the manner 
set forth in Regulation 4901. 

• Clarifies that the records necessary include, but are not limited to, purchase orders, bills 
of lading, receipts, invoices, shipping documents, job orders, contracts, customers written 
certifications, and other relevant documents. 

Proposed Regulation 3230: 

• Prescribes the general application of the CBF. 
• Clarifies that a dealer subject to the jurisdiction of this state is required to collect the 

CBF. 
• Clarifies that the CBF only applies to replacement lead-acid batteries purchased in a retail 

sale and does not apply to sales of replacement lead-acid batteries for resale in the regular 
course of business. 

• Clarifies that the CBF does not apply to the five types of transactions expressly excluded 
from the definition of retail sale by subdivision (p)(2) of HSC section 25215.1 or a sale of 
a replacement lead-acid battery described in subdivision (f)(3) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Incorporates the new motor vehicle dealer exemption in subdivision (c) of HSC section 
25215.25 and clarifies that a new motor vehicle dealer must maintain and make available 
documentation to support the new motor vehicle dealer exemption. 

• Establishes a rebuttable presumption, for purposes of the proper administration of the 
CBF, that a dealer’s sale of a lead-acid battery to a person in California is a retail sale. 

• Clarifies that when the CBF does not apply to a lead-acid battery because it is sold or 
used in a manner or for a purpose excluded from the definition of retail sale by 
subdivision (a)(1) of RTC section 6007 or subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC 
section 25215.1, or not subject to the CBF pursuant to subdivision (a) of HSC section 
25215.25 because it is described in subdivision (f)(3) of HSC section 25215.1, the dealer 
must obtain written certification from the purchaser, in accordance with Regulation 3240, 
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stating that the lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the 
dealer to regard the purchase as not subject to the CBF. 

• Clarifies that a dealer is not required to obtain a written certification from the purchaser 
for a sale of a replacement lead-acid battery for which the CBF has previously been paid 
or a sale that qualifies for the new motor vehicle dealer exemption. 

• Provides notice to dealers required to collect the CBF that they are required to maintain 
and make available all records necessary to determine their liabilities for the CBF and all 
records necessary for the proper completion of their returns in the manner set forth in 
Regulation 4901. 

• Clarifies that the records necessary include, but are not limited to, purchase orders, bills 
of lading, receipts, invoices, shipping documents, job orders, contracts, customers’ 
written certifications, and other relevant documents. 

Proposed Regulation 3240: 

• Requires a manufacturer to obtain written certification from the purchaser that a lead-acid 
battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the manufacturer to regard the 
purchase as not subject to the MBF if a lead-acid battery is sold or will be used in a 
manner or for a purpose that is expressly excluded from the definition of retail sale by 
subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Clarifies that if a written certification is timely taken from the purchaser in proper form 
as set forth in the regulation and in good faith, the manufacturer is not required to pay a 
MBF on the sale of that battery. 

• Requires a dealer to obtain written certification from the purchaser that a lead-acid 
battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the dealer to regard the 
purchase as not subject to the CBF if a replacement lead-acid battery is sold or will be 
used in a manner or for a purpose excluded from the definition of retail sale by 
subdivision (a)(1) of RTC section 6007 or subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC 
section 25215.1, or not subject to the CBF pursuant to subdivision (a) of HSC section 
25215.25 because it is described in subdivision (f)(3) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Clarifies that if a written certification is timely taken from the purchaser in the proper 
form as set forth in the regulation and in good faith, the dealer is not required to collect 
the CBF from the purchaser on the sale of that battery. 

• Prescribes the minimum requirements for a purchaser’s written certification that a lead-
acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose entitling the seller to regard the 
purchase as not subject to the lead-acid battery fees, allows a purchaser to use any written 
document to make such a certification, but recommends that a seller obtain a General 
Exclusion and Exemption Certificate substantially in the form provided in Appendix A to 
preclude potential controversy, and provides that such a certification remains in effect 
until revoked in writing. 

• Clarifies when a written certification is considered timely taken in accordance with 
subdivision (b)(1) of Regulation 1667, and that, in the absence of evidence to the 
contrary, a seller will be presumed to have taken a written certification in good faith if the 
certification contains the essential elements required by the regulation and otherwise 
appears to be valid on its face in accordance with subdivision (c) of Regulation 1668. 
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• Allows a purchaser to issue a blanket General Exclusion and Exemption Certificate that 
applies to all its purchases, unless otherwise indicated on its purchase orders, or a 
qualified General Exclusion and Exemption Certificate that only applies to purchases that 
are properly designated on purchase orders and provides procedures for issuing both 
types of certificates. 

• Clarifies that, if a dealer timely takes a resale certificate from a purchaser for the 
purchase of a replacement lead-acid battery in good faith that contains all the essential 
elements required by Regulation 1668, the certificate shall satisfy the written certification 
requirements with respect to the sale of that battery. 

Determinations 

The Department has determined that the adoption of new chapter 8.2 and proposed Regulations 
3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 is reasonably necessary for the specific purpose of addressing the 
issues (or problems) with the Battery Recycling Act discussed above by: 

• Clarifying that the term “dealer” includes a marketplace facilitator that is the dealer for 
purposes of collecting and remitting the CBF pursuant to RTC section 6043.1. 

• Defining the terms “equipment,” “new equipment,” and “vehicle.” 
• Clarifying what a “new” lead-acid battery means. 
• Clarifying the meaning of the phrase “person who imports the lead-acid battery into this 

state.” 
• Clarifying that a battery is used for any of the purposes included in the definition of lead-

acid battery in subdivision (f) of HSC section 25215.1 if the battery is designed to be 
used for that purpose. 

• Clarifying that only one person may be the manufacturer of a lead-acid battery for 
purposes of the MBF. 

• Clarifying that a person that manufactures or imports a lead-acid battery may only be the 
manufacturer of the battery for purposes of the MBF if that person is subject to the 
jurisdiction of this state. 

• Clarifying that retail sales include drop shipments under RTC section 6007, subdivision 
(a)(2), and that a drop shipper of a lead-acid battery is the manufacturer of that battery if 
they are subject to the jurisdiction of this state and no other person is the manufacturer. 

• Clarifying what it means for a replacement lead-acid battery to be “temporarily stored or 
used in California.” 

• Clarifying the requirements for a lead-acid battery to be incorporated into new equipment 
for resale. 

• Clarifying that there is a retail sale when a consumer is required to pay a separate charge 
to receive a lead-acid battery as a replacement under a warranty or vehicle service 
contract. 

• Clarifying that a person who manufactures a lead-acid battery is not engaged in business 
in this state solely because the person submitted to the jurisdiction of the state to pay and 
remit the MBF on behalf of an importer. 

• Clarifying the application of the MBF, that the MBF applies to different sales 
transactions depending upon whether the MBF is being imposed on a person who 
manufactured the lead-acid battery or the person who imported the battery into the state, 
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and that importing a lead-acid battery into California, by itself, does not trigger 
imposition of the MBF. 

• Clarifying that the MBF does not apply to sales of batteries for which the MBF was 
previously paid and does not apply to the four types of transactions expressly excluded 
from the definition of retail sale by subdivisions (p)(2)(B) through (E) of HSC section 
25215.1. 

• Establishing presumptions regarding whether sales are retail sales, whether lead-acid 
batteries will be resold at retail, and whether sales and purchases of lead-acid batteries are 
excluded from the MBF or CBF that are necessary for the proper administration of the 
fees. 

• Clarifying the application of the CBF and that only dealers subject to the jurisdiction of 
this state are required to collect the CBF. 

• Clarifying that the CBF only applies to replacement lead-acid batteries purchased from 
dealers in a retail sale, as defined in the Battery Recycling Act, and does not apply to 
batteries purchased from dealers for resale in the regular course of business or batteries 
described in subdivision (f)(3) of HSC section 25215.1. 

• Clarifying that a new motor vehicle dealer must maintain documentation to support the 
exemption from the CBF that applies when a new motor vehicle dealer sells or leases a 
used vehicle to a person into which the new motor vehicle dealer has incorporated a 
replacement lead-acid battery. 

• Clarifying the requirements for manufacturers and dealers to obtain written certifications 
from purchasers that a lead-acid battery will be used in a manner or for a purpose 
entitling the seller to regard the purchase as not subject to the lead-acid battery fees and 
prescribing the minimum requirements for a purchaser’s written certification. 

• Clarifying when a written certification is considered timely taken in good faith and that if 
a written certification is timely taken from the purchaser of a battery in proper form and 
in good faith, a manufacturer is not required to pay a MBF on the sale of that battery and 
a dealer is not required to collect the CBF on the sale of that battery. 

• Providing a blanket General Exclusion and Exemption Certificate that purchasers may 
issue for all their purchases, unless otherwise indicated, or a qualified General Exclusion 
and Exemption Certificate that purchasers may issue for purchases that are properly 
designated on purchase orders. 

• Clarifying that manufacturers required to pay the MBF, persons that pay the MBF on 
behalf of importers, and dealers required to collect the CBF are all required to maintain 
and make available records in accordance with Regulation 4901. 

The Department anticipates that the adoption of proposed Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 
3240 will promote fairness and benefit businesses that manufacture, import, buy, or sell lead-acid 
batteries, individual consumers that purchase lead-acid batteries, and the Department by defining 
and further clarifying terms and phrases used in the Battery Recycling Act, clarifying the 
application of the MBF and CBF, providing notice about the records manufacturers and dealers 
are required to maintain and make available to determine their liabilities for the MBF and CBF, 
establishing rebuttable presumptions for the proper administration of the fees, prescribing the 
minimum requirements for a purchaser’s written certification that a lead-acid battery will be used 
in a manner or for a purpose entitling the seller to regard the purchase as not subject to the lead-
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acid battery fees, and providing a General Exclusion and Exemption Certificate form that 
purchasers can use to make their written certifications. 

In addition, the Department has determined that the adoption of new chapter 8.2 and proposed 
Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 is not mandated by federal law or regulations, and there 
are no federal regulations or statutes that are identical to Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 
3240.  The Department has also determined that it is necessary to include many provisions from 
the Battery Recycling Act in proposed Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 so that readers 
will not need to refer to the underlying statutes and to make it easier to clarify the meaning of 
those provisions as they are used in the regulations. 

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON 

The Department relied upon Department staff’s understanding of the Battery Recycling Act and 
Sales and Use Tax Law in proposing to adopt new chapter 8.2 and proposed Regulations 3210, 
3220, 3230, and 3240.  The Department did not rely upon any technical, theoretical, or empirical 
study, report or similar document. 

ALTERNATIVES CONSIDERED 

The Department considered whether to begin the regular rulemaking process to adopt new 
chapter 8.2 and proposed Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 at this time or, alternatively, 
whether to take no action at this time.  The Department decided to begin the regular rulemaking 
process to adopt new chapter 8.2 and proposed Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 because 
the Department determined that the provisions of Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 are 
reasonably necessary for the reasons set forth above. 

The Department did not reject any reasonable alternative to Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 
3240, including any reasonable alternative that would lessen any adverse impact the proposed 
action may have on small business or that would be less burdensome and equally effective in 
achieving the purposes of the proposed action.  No reasonable alternative to Regulations 3210, 
3220, 3230, and 3240 has been identified and brought to the Department’s attention that would 
lessen any adverse impact the proposed action may have on small business, be more effective in 
carrying out the purposes for which the action is proposed, would be as effective and less 
burdensome to affected private persons than the proposed action, or would be more cost effective 
to affected private persons and equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other 
provision of law than the proposed action. 

INFORMATION REQUIRED BY GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 11346.2, 
SUBDIVISION (b)(5) AND ECONOMIC IMPACT ASSESSMENT REQUIRED BY 
GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 11346.3, SUBDIVISION (b) 

The Department assessed the economic impact of adopting Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 
3240 on California businesses and individuals.  The Department determined that business and 
individuals will not incur any costs to comply with Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 that 
they would not otherwise incur to comply with the Battery Recycling Act.  The Department also 
determined that businesses that manufacture, import, buy, or sell lead-acid batteries and 
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individual consumers that purchase lead-acid batteries will benefit from the clarifications made 
by Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240, but they will not receive a monetary benefit. 

As a result, the Department determined that the proposed regulatory action is not a major 
regulation, as defined in Government Code section 11342.548 and California Code of 
Regulations, title 1, section 2000.  The Department also prepared the economic impact 
assessment required by Government Code section 11346.3, subdivision (b)(1), and the 
Department determined in the economic impact assessment that the adoption of Regulations 
3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 will neither create nor eliminate jobs in the State of California nor 
result in the creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing businesses within the state 
and will not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within the State of 
California. 

Furthermore, Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 do not regulate the health and welfare of 
California residents, worker safety, or the state’s environment.  Therefore, the Department 
determined that the adoption of Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 will not affect the 
benefits of the regulations to the health and welfare of California residents, worker safety, or the 
state’s environment. 

The forgoing information also provides the factual basis for the Department’s initial 
determination that the adoption of Regulations 3210, 3220, 3230, and 3240 will not have a 
significant adverse economic impact on business. 
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