

SPECIAL NOTICE

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION

450 N Street Sacramento, CA 95814

GAVIN NEWSOM

Governor

AMY TONG

Secretary
Government Operations Agency

NICOLAS MADUROS

Director

CDTFA WEBSITE www.cdtfa.ca.gov

CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER 1-800-400-7115

CRS **711**

Rate Change for International Fuel Tax Agreement and Interstate User Diesel Fuel Tax Licensees Effective July 1, 2022

Effective July 1, 2022, the tax rate you report and pay with your quarterly International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) or Interstate User Diesel Fuel (DI) returns for diesel fuel purchased outside California and used in California will increase from 72.7 cents (\$0.727) to 85.3 cents (\$0.853) per gallon.

What is included in the tax rate?

The 85.3 cents (\$0.853) per gallon includes:

- 41 cents (\$0.41) per gallon of diesel fuel tax (adjusted on July 1 of each year); and
- An excise tax of 44.3 cents (\$0.443) per gallon.

When does this new tax rate go into effect and for how long?

This new rate is in effect from July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023. You must use this rate starting with your third quarter 2022 return (July 1, 2022, through September 30, 2022).

Potential legislation that may impact fuel tax rates

We are aware of proposals to change the laws for excise tax that may impact fuel tax rates. If there are any changes that will affect these tax rates or their effective dates, we will notify you.

How do I report my tax-paid diesel fuel?

You must file your quarterly tax return and report the gallons of tax-paid diesel fuel you used in each state. Beginning July 1, 2022, you may claim a credit of 85.3 cents (\$0.853) per gallon for tax-paid diesel fuel that you purchased in California and used both inside and outside the state.

For more information

For more information regarding IFTA, DI, or diesel fuel taxes, see our online *Tax Guide* for International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) and Interstate User Diesel Fuel (DI) at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/ifta-ciudft-di-license.htm. You may also call our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711), then select the option for *Special Taxes and Fees*, and then select *Motor Carrier Office*. Customer service representatives are available Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.

Please visit our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/subscribe/ to subscribe to our email lists and receive the latest news including newsletters, tax and fee updates, and other announcements.