CDTFA-401-1PT (S1F) REV. 22 (3-23)

TIMBER YIELD TAX RETURN

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION

DUE ON OR BEFORE

PERIOD BEGIN DATE

PERIOD END DATE

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION
PO BOX 942879

SACRAMENTO CA 94279-4001

YOUR ACCOUNT NUMBER

O Please check this box if this filing represents an AMENDED RETURN.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: If you did not harvest timber for this quarter, please see items 7 and 8 below, sign, and return this form.

CDTFA USE ONLY
EFF

PM

READ INSTRUCTIONS
BEFORE PREPARING

SUMMARY OF HARVEST VALUES BY COUNTY

A. HARVEST COUNTY OF HARVEST D. TOTAL TAXABLE CDTFA
" Noween B. COUNTY NAME o-NUMBER | "ViRvEST REPORT(S) USE ONLY
$ .00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
.00
1. Total from CDTFA-401-SPT, Timber Tax Return (Supplement) 00
2. Total of harvest values (enter the total of all harvest values in column D) 00
3. Timber tax (multiply line 2 by 2.9 percent [0.029]) 00
4. PENALTY: (if filed and/or paid after the due date, see line 4 instructions) 00
5. INTEREST: One month’s interest is due on tax for each month or
fraction of a month that payment is delayed after the due date (for 00
assistance, see line 5 instructions).
. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AND PAYABLE (add lines 3, 4, and 5) $ 00

. Check box if this is your final tax return, no further harvesting. Close account.

. Check box if you did not harvest for this quarter.

© ([0 N | O

.| Check box if you have harvested timber and all of your harvest operations are $3,000 or less in value.

For our privacy policy and notice, visit our webpage at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/privacy.htm, or go to

www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/forms.htm and search for CDTFA-324-GEN-WEB, Privacy Notice—Website—No Action Needed.

| hereby certify that this return, including any accompanying schedules and statements, has been
examined by me and to the best of my knowledge and belief is a true, correct, and complete return.

EMAIL ADDRESS

SIGNATURE

PRINT NAME AND TITLE

TELEPHONE NUMBER

DATE

Make a copy for your records. Please notify California Department of Tax and Fee Administration if your name or YT
address is incorrect, business is closed, or if ownership or location changed.

[CLEAR | [PRINT |


https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/DownloadFile.ashx?path=/formspubs/cdtfa401spt.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/privacy.htm
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/forms.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/DownloadFile.ashx?path=/formspubs/cdtfa324gen-web.pdf
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING TIMBER TAX RETURN

Payments: To make your payment online, go to our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov, and select File & Make a Payment.
You can also pay by credit card on our website or by calling 1-855-292-8931. If paying by check or money order, be
sure to include your account number. Make check or money order payable to: California Department of Tax and

Fee Administration.

GENERAL

The Timber Yield Tax (TYT) is a property tax paid by timber owners when they harvest trees or timber. The California
Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) administers and collects the TYT. After state administrative costs, the
TYT is allocated to the counties where the timber was harvested. CDTFA also determines the harvest values of timber and
timberland production zone values.

Prior to 1976, timber and timberlands were subject to an annual ad valorem property tax administered by each individual
county assessor. The TYT Law, passed in 1976, replaced the ad valorem tax on standing timber with a yield tax on the
value of harvested timber. While the timber yield tax is state tax deferred until the time of harvest, the taxation of the
timberland is still part of the local annual property tax that is administered by each county assessor.

FILING REQUIREMENTS

For most accounts, TYT returns must be filed for each calendar quarter. However, if Christmas trees are the only forest
product you harvest and you harvest them in the fourth quarter of each year, you will file a return only for the fourth quarter
of each year. The filing date is the last day of the month following the end of the quarter.

You must file your TYT return as long as you remain registered with CDTFA, even if you do not harvest any timber during a
reporting period or if all your harvests for the reporting period qualify for the low-value exemption.
PREPARATION OF RETURN

Column A. Harvest plan/contract number. Enter the harvest plan/contract number(s) on CDTFA-401-APT,
Harvest Report. All harvest plan/contract number(s), except those that are exempt, are summarized on
CDTFA-401-1PT, Timber Tax Return.

Column B. County name. Enter the name of the county indicated on line 4 of CDTFA-401-APT.
Column C. Number. Enter the county code number indicated on line 5 of CDTFA-401-APT.

Column D. Total taxable harvest value from harvest report(s). Enter the total taxable harvest value(s) indicated on
line 14 of CDTFA-401-APT. Complete a separate line for each county. If more lines are needed, please use
CDTFA-401-SPT, Timber Tax Return (Supplement).

Line 1. Total from CDTFA-401-SPT. If CDTFA-401-SPT is used, enter the total harvest value from column D.
Otherwise, leave it blank.

Line 2. Total of harvest values. Add the total of the harvest values in column D.

Line 3. Timber tax. Multiply the total of the harvest values on line 2 by the timber tax rate shown, and enter the
amount to the nearest cent.

Line 4. Penalty. The following penalty charges may be assessed for filing a late return and/or late payment:

e Late-file penalty—If the tax return is not filed by the due date, a one hundred dollar ($100) penalty applies
and should be entered on line 4.

¢ | ate-pay penalty —If the tax return is not paid by the due date, a ten percent (10%) penalty applies on the
remaining amount of the tax due from line 3. To find ten percent of the tax due, multiple line 3 by 0.10 and
enter on line 4.

e | ate-file and late-pay penalty—If both the return and payment are received late, ten percent (10%) applies on
the remaining amount of the tax due from line 3, or one hundred dollars ($100), whichever is greater. To find
ten percent of the tax due, multiple line 3 by 0.10. If that amount is greater than one hundred dollars ($100),
enter it on line 4. Otherwise, enter $100.00 on line 4.


http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/DownloadFile.ashx?path=/formspubs/cdtfa401apt.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/DownloadFile.ashx?path=/formspubs/cdtfa401spt.pdf

CDTFA-401-1PT (S2) REV. 22 (3-23)

Line 5.

Line 6.

Line 7.

Line 8.

Line 9.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING TIMBER TAX RETURN—CONTINUED

Interest. If your payment is late, you must pay interest charges in addition to penalty charges. The interest
rate applies to each month or fraction of a month that your payment is late. Multiply the tax due on line 3 by
the interest rate, then multiply the result by the number of months, including any fraction of a month, that has
elapsed since the due date. You may use the Interest Rate Calculator on our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov for
help calculating interest due.

Total amount due and payable. Enter the total amount due and payable by adding lines 3, 4, and 5.

Check box if this is your final tax return, no further harvesting. Close account. If all timber harvesting
activity has been completed and you do not intend to engage in further harvesting, please check the box.
This will close your account, and tax returns will no longer be mailed.

Check box if you did not harvest for this quarter. If you did not harvest timber during this reporting quarter,
check the box.

Check box if you have harvested timber and all of your harvest operations are $3,000 or less in value.
If you have harvested timber and the amount in box 14 on all copies of CDTFA-401-APT is $3,000 or less,
check the box on line 9.

For more information, you may also visit our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov or call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115
(CRS:711); from the main menu, select the option Special Taxes and Fees. Customer service representatives are available Monday
through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.



https://onlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov/?link=ViewSimInt
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov
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