
CDTFA-447 (FRONT) REV. 10 (12-24)

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO SECTION 6247 
OF THE CALIFORNIA SALES AND USE TAX LAW

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION 

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE

STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE

YEAR MAKE MODEL

NAME CDTFA SELLER’S PERMIT NUMBER DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER

VIN/LICENSE NUMBER PURCHASE PRICE DATE OF PURCHASE

DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER (please attach a copy of the driver license to this form) STATE DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER

NAME OF PURCHASER, AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE, OR MEMBER (please print; business names will not be accepted) SIGNATURE DATE

NAME OF AGENT (please print) SIGNATURE DATE

To be completed by the purchaser (please type or print)

To be completed by the seller (please type or print)

The timely acceptance in good faith by the seller of this CDTFA-447, properly completed, will relieve the seller of liability for failure to 
collect use tax from the purchaser. The seller must retain the original statements. Where the seller does not collect the use tax from 
the purchaser and it is determined that the vehicle was purchased for use in California, the purchaser must pay the applicable use 
tax to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). Note: This CDTFA-447 only relieves the seller of the duty to 
collect use tax from the purchaser and does not relieve the seller from sales tax, which will usually apply if the property is delivered to 
the purchaser in California. That is, this CDTFA-447 is useful only where the property is delivered to the purchaser outside California, 
and the seller will have the burden to show such out-of-state delivery. The seller may use CDTFA-448, Statement of Delivery Outside 
California, to help document actual delivery to the purchaser outside California. 

NOTICE TO PURCHASER
Please note that if this vehicle is brought into California for any reason, other than qualifying warranty or repair service, within the 
first 12 months of its delivery, it shall be presumed that you have purchased the vehicle for use in California, and you may owe 
California use tax. If use tax applies, you must pay it directly to CDTFA. Since you are claiming that this vehicle is not purchased for 
use in California, it is important that for the first 12 months of ownership, you obtain documentary evidence of the place of use of this 
vehicle (for example, proof of payment of tax to another state, gas and service receipts, credit card statements or bank statements). 
Because CDTFA may have up to eight years to determine whether your vehicle was actually purchased for use in California, you should 
retain records for at least eight years showing your out-of-state use during the first 12 months after your purchase. For more detailed 
information, please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711) or our Consumer Use Tax Section at 1-916-
445-9524. You may find forms and publications on our website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov.

This form must be fully completed, or it will be subject to further examination. Sellers must retain documentation to 
substantiate delivery outside California. Purchasers must retain documentation supporting continued use outside California.

Fraudulent use of this statement to avoid the payment of California sales and use tax may result in severe civil and/or 
criminal penalties.

I have an address or I am stationed in the military within the state of California. My California address is:

Vehicle Description:

Name and Address of California Seller:

I certify that the vehicle described below is being purchased for use outside California and not for storage, use, or other consumption 
in California, and will be used at the following out-of-state address (cannot be a P.O. Box or a third-party address with no affiliation to 
the purchaser, such as an unrelated business address):

This vehicle will be delivered to me at the following out-of-state address (cannot be a P.O. Box):

My California mailing address is (if different from address above):

http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov


NOTICE TO SELLER
Please provide a copy of this form to the purchaser and retain the original for your records. This transaction is subject to audit. We 
request that you send a copy of this form and attach a copy of the purchaser’s driver license, a copy of the purchase contract, and 
a copy of the completed CDTFA-448, Statement of Delivery Outside California, and relevant shipping documentation to the address 
below within 30 days of the date of delivery to the purchaser.

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION
Consumer Use Tax Section

PO Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0037

CDTFA-447 (BACK) REV. 10 (12-24)
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