
CDTFA-837 (FRONT) REV. 6 (1-21) STATE OF CALIFORNIA

AFFIDAVIT FOR SECTION 6388 OR 6388.5 EXEMPTION CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION 
FROM CALIFORNIA SALES AND USE TAX

Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) sections 6388 and 6388.5 provide exemptions from the taxes imposed on the sale, storage, use, or other 
consumption of certain vehicles or trailers. The R&TC section 6388 exemption applies to the sale or use of certain new or remanufactured 
vehicles or trailers by non-California residents. The R&TC section 6388.5 exemption applies to the sale or use of certain new, used, or 
remanufactured vehicles, and new or remanufactured trailers and semitrailers. Additional information about these exemptions and additional 
requirements to meet these exemptions is available on the back of this form and in Regulation 1620.1, Sales of Certain Vehicles and Trailers 
for Use in Interstate or Out-of-State Commerce.

CHECK AND/OR FILL IN ALL APPROPRIATE BOXES AND FIELDS BELOW

I have purchased a vehicle or trailer, the sale and use of which is exempt from California sales and use tax per section   6388   6388.5.

Vehicle or Trailer Information:

The vehicle is a  truck,  truck tractor,  trailer,  semitrailer,  trailer coach, or  auxiliary dolly, described as: 

The vehicle or trailer was moved outside California within  30  75 days of delivery (check one). Date moved

Seller and Deliverer of Vehicle or Trailer:

I hereby certify that the vehicle or trailer described above was purchased from  

located at  , and was delivered by

, located at  .

Leasing and Registration Information:

The vehicle or trailer described above  is  is not being leased. If being leased, please indicate name and address of lessee:

Vehicle or trailer is licensed or registered in   Number/Filing  

Purchaser Information:

The purchaser is a  corporation  limited liability company  partnership  sole proprietor, who is  a California resident 
 non-California resident. 

The vehicle or trailer was purchased for use:

  Exclusively outside California (section 6388), or

  Exclusively outside California or exclusively in interstate or foreign commerce, or both (section 6388.5).

If the vehicle or trailer is registered outside California, please provide a copy of the purchaser’s or lessor’s out-of-state registration, 
or license and registration, within 60 days from the date of this affidavit. If the vehicle or trailer is registered in California under 
the International Registration Plan (IRP) or Permanent Trailer Identification (PTI) program, please attach a copy of the purchaser’s 
or lessee’s U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) number, Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) number, or current Unified 
Carrier Registration System (UCR) filing.

I understand that if I do not meet the requisite exemption provisions detailed on the back of this form, I am required by the California 
Sales and Use Tax Law to report and pay tax, interest, and penalties (if applicable), directly to the California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration. The tax is to be measured by the purchase price of the above listed vehicle or trailer even though I have furnished an affidavit 
of exemption to the manufacturer, remanufacturer, or dealer.

(name of dealer or manufacturer/ remanufacturer)

(dealer or manufacturer/ remanufacturer’s address - street, city, state, ZIP Code)

(California dealer or manufacturer/ remanufacturer’s address - street, city, state, ZIP Code)

(state where registered)

(name and address of lessee)

(please provide owner’s or lessee’s USDOT number,  
FMC number or UCR filing)

(name of California dealer or manufacturer/ remanufacturer)

For exemption requirements and instructions on completing this affidavit, please see back of form.

MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN)/SERIAL NUMBER YEAR PURCHASE PRICE UNLADEN WEIGHT

MANUFACTURER/REMANUFACTURER PLACE OF MANUFACTURE/REMANUFACTURE DATE OF DELIVERY

PURCHASER’S NAME

SIGNATURE OF PURCHASER OR PURCHASER’S AGENT TITLE

PRINT NAME OF SIGNATOR TELEPHONE NUMBER DATE



CDTFA-837 (BACK) REV. 6 (1-21)

SECTION 6388 — NEW OR REMANUFACTURED VEHICLES PURCHASED FROM OUT-OF-STATE DEALER

This exemption applies to the sale, storage, use, or other consumption of a new or remanufactured truck, truck tractor, trailer, or semitrailer, with an 
unladen weight of 6,000 pounds or more, or a trailer coach or auxiliary dolly, purchased from a dealer located outside California for use outside 
California, and delivered in California by the manufacturer or remanufacturer to a purchaser who is not a resident of California. The purchaser must:

1. Remove the vehicle from this state within 30 days after the date of delivery.

2. Provide a valid affidavit to the manufacturer or remanufacturer, that is accepted by such person in good faith, stating:

• The name and location of the out-of-state dealer from whom the vehicle was purchased,

• The name and location of the in-state manufacturer or remanufacturer that delivered the vehicle to the purchaser, and the date of delivery,

• That the purchaser is not a resident of California,

• That the vehicle was purchased for use exclusively outside California,

• That the vehicle was removed from this state within 30 days of the delivery date; and

• The date of removal.

3. Provide evidence of out-of-state vehicle registration (state of registration, license plate number, and Vehicle Identification Number [VIN] or
serial number) to the manufacturer or remanufacturer within 60 days of providing the affidavit to the deliverer.

Notwithstanding the forgoing provisions, it is rebuttably presumed that a vehicle registered outside California and apportioned for use within this 
state is not purchased for use exclusively outside this state.

SECTION 6388.5 — SPECIFIED VEHICLES AND TRAILERS PURCHASED FOR USE OUT-OF-STATE OR IN INTERSTATE OR FOREIGN COMMERCE 

This exemption applies to the sale, storage, use, or other consumption of a new, used, or remanufactured truck; or a new or remanufactured 
trailer, or semitrailer with an unladen weight of 6,000 pounds or more purchased from a California or non-California dealer that was manufactured 
or remanufactured either within or without this state for use exclusively outside California or exclusively in interstate or foreign commerce, or 
both; and delivered by the manufacturer, remanufacturer, or dealer, to the purchaser in California. The purchaser or purchaser’s agent must:

1. Remove the vehicle or trailer from this state within 30 days after the date of delivery, if the vehicle or trailer is manufactured or remanufactured
outside California; or remove the vehicle or trailer from the state within 75 days after the date of delivery, if the vehicle or trailer is
manufactured or remanufactured within California.

2. If the vehicle or trailer is registered outside the state, provide the delivering manufacturer, remanufacturer, or dealer a copy of the current out-
of-state license and registration for the vehicle or trailer showing the VIN or serial number. Evidence of registration outside California must be
submitted to the dealer, manufacturer, or remanufacturer no later than 60 days after the timely providing of an affidavit.

3. If the vehicle or trailer is registered in-state under the IRP or PTI program, provide the delivering manufacturer, remanufacturer, or dealer a
copy of the federal document assigning or confirming the purchaser’s or lessee’s USDOT number, FMC number, or a copy of the current UCR
filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The purchaser or purchaser’s agent may not use the FMC number if the purchaser has a
current USDOT number. Evidence of a USDOT number, FMC number, or UCR filing must be submitted with the affidavit.

4. Provide an affidavit to the manufacturer, remanufacturer, or dealer, that is accepted by such person in good faith, stating:

• The name and location of the dealer from whom the vehicle or trailer was purchased,

• The name and location of the California dealer, manufacturer, or remanufacturer that delivered the vehicle or trailer to the purchaser,

• That the vehicle or trailer was purchased for use exclusively outside the state, or exclusively in interstate or foreign commerce, or both,

• That the vehicle or trailer was removed from the state within the appropriate time periods; and

• The date of removal.

INSTRUCTIONS 

This affidavit must be provided to the entity delivering the vehicle or trailer no later than 30 days from the date the vehicle or trailer is taken 
outside California.

Complete all sections and check all appropriate boxes. If the vehicle or trailer was sold and delivered by the same entity, write “Same” in the sections 
for the deliverer.

If a vehicle or trailer is registered in California under the IRP or PTI program, proof of a USDOT number, FMC number, or current UCR filing 
must be attached to the affidavit.

If a vehicle or trailer is registered outside California, proof of out-of-state registration (state of registration, license plate number, and VIN or 
serial number) must be furnished to the deliverer of the vehicle or trailer no later than 60 days after the purchaser provides the affidavit to the 
deliverer.

For transactions that include the purchase of more than one vehicle or trailer, you need not file a separate affidavit for each vehicle or trailer, 
but may instead append a list of the vehicles or trailers included in the transaction, identifying each one by a VIN or serial number. You must, 
however, report the date each vehicle or trailer was removed from the state and provide copies of current out-of-state license and registration 
documents or USDOT number, FMC number, or UCR filing applicable to each vehicle or trailer if registered in-state, as required.

If you purchase a vehicle or trailer for the purpose of leasing it, you may qualify for the exemption if the lessee meets the respective exemption 
criteria summarized above. A lessor must provide the name and address of the lessee. On leases of vehicles or trailers that qualify for IRP or 
PTI registration, the lessor must provide proof of the lessee’s USDOT number, FMC number, or current UCR filing. For all other leases, the 
lessor must provide proof of out-of-state registration.

If you have questions about these exemptions or completion of the affidavit, please call 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711). Customer service 
representatives are available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.
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