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This semiannual newsletter informs you of the recent changes to tax and fee programs administered by the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) and other California state agencies that may affect your clients’ businesses. This newsletter also 
provides efficient, accurate, professional tax information, and guidance in preparing your clients’ returns.

NEWS FOR TAX PRACTITIONERS
WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW TO HELP YOUR CLIENTS SUCCESSFULLY OPERATE THEIR BUSINESSES

MISSION: We make life better for Californians by fairly and efficiently collecting the revenue that supports our essential public services.

Relief and Extensions for Filing Returns
Effective December 15, 2020, Governor Newsom issued an 
executive order providing a three-month extension on tax 
returns and tax payments for small businesses. For taxpayers 
reporting less than $1 million in tax, the deadlines for returns 
and payments due from December 15, 2020, through  
April 30, 2021, are extended by three months. Taxpayers 
reporting less than $1 million in tax on a return originally due 
within this time frame are not required to seek an extension or 
request relief from interest from CDTFA; relief will be provided 
automatically. Interest and penalties will not accrue on return 
amounts due for these taxpayers, provided payments are 
made and returns are filed within three months of the original 
due date.

Requests for Relief for Larger Taxpayers
Taxpayers with a liability of $1 million or greater must request 
an extension and request relief from interest if they are unable 
to file and pay by the due date. These requests are evaluated 
on a case-by-case basis and taxpayers will be notified if their 
requests have been approved or denied.

Small Business Relief Payment Plans for Sales  
and Use Tax
The CDTFA is offering a 12-month, interest-free, payment 
plan for small businesses with less than $5 million in annual 
taxable sales. This payment plan is limited to sales and use tax 
accounts and is available for up to $50,000 in tax liability for 
returns with original due dates between December 15, 2020, 
and April 30, 2021. All payment plans must be paid in full by 
April 30, 2022, to qualify for zero interest. 

For more information on tax relief for businesses impacted by 
COVID-19, please visit our COVID-19 State of Emergency page 
at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/covid19.htm. 

Final Online Services Expansion

We completed the final expansion of our online services. All tax 
and fee programs we administer are now incorporated into our 
new online system. The programs below were transitioned on 
November 9, 2020. 

• Cannabis Taxes 

• Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee

• Emergency Telephone Users Surcharge 

• Energy Resources (Electrical Energy) Surcharge 

• Hazardous Substances Taxes (Disposal, Environmental, 
Facility, and Generator) 

• Integrated Waste Management Fee 

• Lead-Acid Battery Fees 

• Marine Invasive Species Fee (formerly Ballast Water 
Management Fee) 

• Natural Gas Surcharge

• Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee 

• Public Warehouse – Alcoholic Beverage Tax 

• Tax on Insurers

• Water Rights Fee

You can now complete returns, schedules, and license renewals 
for all tax and fee programs in our new online services system. 
As a tax preparer, you must log in with your username and 
password, and obtain access to your clients’ accounts to 
file online. We sent a letter to CDTFA account holders with 
information on how to register for online access. The letter 
included a unique security code, which is needed to gain 
access online. If you do not currently have a username and 
password, please sign up now at  
https://onlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov.

If your client has an account type listed above and you already 
have a username and password for the new system, log in 
and choose the Request Access to an Account link to request 
access to their account. Your client may also provide you a 
copy of the letter mailed to them which you can use to gain 
immediate access to the account online. Video tutorials about 
logging in and filing returns are available on our website at  
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/#Tutorials, including How to Create 
a Username and Password in the new system, How to Gain 
Access to an Account, and How to File Online.

New Website Redesign
On November 5, the CDTFA launched its new and improved 
website! Based on your feedback, we redesigned our website 
to feature a cleaner, simpler look. It showcases the three most 
requested functions: File a Return & Pay Taxes, Register for a 
Permit, and Tax & Fee Rates. The website is intuitive with clear 
navigation that makes it easy to efficiently find information. The 
sharp and professional design is focused on your needs.

Visit www.cdtfa.ca.gov to check out our updated website!  
Take a look at the Quick Reference Guide to see what’s new!

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/covid19.htm
https://onlineservices.cdtfa.ca.gov/_/
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/#Tutorials
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub505W1.pdf
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Emergency Telephone Users (911) 
Surcharge Annual Rate Setting and 
Extension of Local Charges
911 Surcharge Rate
The Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES) 
determined that the Emergency Telephone Users (911) 
Surcharge rate will remain at $0.30 for the period of  
January 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021.

Sellers and service suppliers will collect the 911 Surcharge as 
follows:

• Sellers of prepaid mobile telephony services (MTS) shall 
collect the 911 Surcharge from each prepaid MTS consumer 
at the time of each retail transaction in California.

• Service suppliers shall collect the 911 Surcharge on each 
access line for each month or partial month a service user 
subscribes to for use in California.

Extension of Local Charges
On September 25, 2020, Governor 
Newsom signed Senate Bill 1441 
(Stats. 2020, ch. 179), which 
extends a seller’s requirement to 
collect applicable local charges 
through December 31, 2025. 
Sellers of prepaid MTS making 
sales to California purchasers, 
either online or at a retail location, 
must continue to collect the 
applicable local charges if in the preceding calendar year, their 
sales of prepaid MTS were $15,000 or more.

Please view our Tax Guide for Sellers of Prepaid Mobile 
Telephony Services (MTS) and Telecommunication Service 
Suppliers for more information about the application of 
the 911 Surcharge and local charges. Please also see our 
special notice, Collection of Local Charges Extended through 
December 31, 2025.

Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Trucks 
Used Out-of-State or in Interstate or 
Foreign Commerce to Include International 
Registration Plan Registration
Operative January 1, 2020, Assembly Bill 321 (Stats. 2019, 
ch. 226) amended Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) 
section 6388.5 for the exemption to also apply to the sales 
or use of certain new, used, and remanufactured trucks. 
The exemption applies to trucks delivered in California 
to both California residents and nonresidents and that 
are removed from the state within a specified time, and 
afterwards, exclusively used out-of-state or in interstate 
or foreign commerce. On September 30, 2020, Senate Bill 
1473 (Stats. 2020, ch. 371), was enacted which amended 
R&TC section 6388.5 to clarify that purchasers of certain 
new, used, or remanufactured trucks registered under the 
International Registration Plan (IRP) may submit written 
evidence of the purchaser’s United States Department 
of Transportation Number or United Carrier Registration 
System filing in lieu of written evidence of out-of-state 
license and registration.

For more information, please see our special notice, Sales 
and Use Tax Exemption for Trucks Used Out-of-State or 
in Interstate or Foreign Commerce to Include International 
Registration Plan Registration, at  
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/l788.pdf.

Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB)  
Tax News for Tax Professionals
Tax News – California FTB’s monthly online publication is 
designed to inform tax professionals about state income 
tax laws, regulations, policies and procedures, and events 
that affect the tax professional community. The FTB also 
periodically releases a newsflash to quickly notify its 
subscribers of urgent, time-sensitive information.

The FTB provides a subscription service that delivers Tax 
News to you via email. It’s free and all FTB asks for is your 
email address. 

Please visit the FTB’s subscription services webpage to 
subscribe.

Use Fuel Tax – New Legislation Changes the 
Use Fuel Tax Rate on Dimethyl Ether

Assembly Bill 2663 (Stats. 2020, ch. 
117), beginning July 1, 2021, changes 
the current $0.18 per gallon use fuel 
tax rate on dimethyl ether (DME) and 
DME-liquefied petroleum gas fuel 
blend to $0.06 per gallon, for each 
gallon used. It also authorizes owners 
or operators of DME or DME-liquefied 

petroleum gas fuel blend-powered vehicles, except interstate 
users, to pay the annual flat rate fuel tax in lieu of the per 
gallon fuel tax. 

Changes Affecting Used Vehicle Dealers and 
Vehicle Auction Houses on January 1, 2021
As of January 1, 2021, the filing frequency of all used vehicle 
dealers and vehicle auction houses changed to a monthly 
reporting basis. We now require detailed transaction 
information for any retail sales of used vehicles to be included 
with the returns. The first return for sales made in the month 
of January 2021, is due March 1, 2021.

In addition, certain used vehicle dealers are required to pay 
sales tax on their retail sales of vehicles at the time they 
submit a vehicle registration application to the Department 
of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV will notify your client, 
in advance, when their payment method is scheduled to 
change. Your client must continue to timely remit taxes due 
to us until your client is transitioned to the DMV payment 
process. Your client must provide their seller’s permit number 
on their Report of Sale to ensure their sales tax payment is 
correctly applied to their CDTFA return. Please note: If your 
client makes taxable sales of items other than used vehicles, 
they must continue to remit the taxes due on those sales to 
the CDTFA.

The reporting basis and payment changes are results of the 
enactment of Assembly Bill (AB) 85 (Stats. 2020, ch. 8) and 
AB 82 (Stats. 2020, ch. 14) and apply to vehicle dealers, 
other than new motor vehicle dealers, lessor-retailers, 
and other specified sellers of vehicles, who hold a license 
issued pursuant to the Vehicle Code (generally, used vehicle 
dealers). 

For more information, please see our special notice, Changes 
Affecting Used Vehicle Dealers and Vehicle Auction Houses 
Beginning January 1, 2021, and our New Legislation Affecting 
Used Vehicle Dealers – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
webpage at www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/faqs-for-used-
vehicle-dealers.htm.

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB1441
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/seller-servicesupplier.htm#Overview
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/seller-servicesupplier.htm#Overview
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/seller-servicesupplier.htm#Overview
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L784.pdf
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L784.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB321
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=6388.5.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=6388.5.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB1473
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200SB1473
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/about-ftb/newsroom/tax-news/index.html
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/about-ftb/newsroom/subscriptions.asp
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB2663
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/faqs-for-used-vehicle-dealers.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/faqs-for-used-vehicle-dealers.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/l788.pdf
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Losses Due to Theft
Relief may be available for excise and cultivation taxes 
when a cannabis business is the victim of theft.

Cannabis Excise Tax

The cannabis excise tax is not due on cannabis or 
cannabis products (cannabis) stolen and never sold at 
retail. If a cannabis retailer paid the cannabis excise 
tax to its distributor and the associated cannabis is 
subsequently stolen from the cannabis retailer, that retailer 
may request a refund from its distributor for the cannabis 
excise tax paid on stolen cannabis. The distributor is 
required to provide the retailer with a receipt or similar 
document that indicates the amount of cannabis excise 
tax refunded. The distributor may then request a refund 
from us or claim a credit on its next tax return, for the 
cannabis excise tax paid to the CDTFA and subsequently 
refunded to its retailers. Both the retailer and the 
distributor must keep documentation supporting any loss 
due to theft, such as a police report and/or insurance 
claim.

Cannabis Cultivation Tax

Cannabis enters the commercial market when it passes 
the required testing and quality assurance review. 
The cultivation tax is due on cannabis that enters the 
commercial market even if the cannabis is subsequently 
lost due to theft. 

However, the cultivation tax is not due on cannabis stolen 
before it enters the commercial market. If the cultivation 
tax was collected on cannabis that never entered the 
commercial market, the cultivation tax must be returned 
to the originating cultivator. If the cultivation tax cannot 
be returned to the cultivator, the cultivation tax must be 
reported and paid to the CDTFA.

For more information regarding loss due to the theft of 
cannabis, including documentation requirements and 
sales and use tax information, please view the Losses Due 
to Theft section under the Retailers tab and Distributors 
tab in our Tax Guide for Cannabis Businesses at  
www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm.

Cannabis Rates
Due to new legislation, Assembly Bill 1872 (Stats. 2020,  
ch. 93), the cannabis excise tax mark-up rate and the 
cultivation tax rates will remain the same on January 1, 2021, 
as outlined below. 

Cannabis Excise Tax Mark-Up Rate

• The cannabis excise tax mark-up rate used by distributors 
to compute the average market price of cannabis or 
cannabis products sold or transferred to a cannabis retailer 
in an arm’s length transaction will remain at 80 percent for 
the period of January 1, 2021, through June 30, 2021. 

Cultivation Tax Rates

• The 2020 calendar year cultivation tax rates will remain in 
effect for the 2021 calendar year. 

 {The CDTFA will adjust the cultivation tax rates annually for 
inflation beginning with the 2022 calendar year. 

Please see our special notice, Cannabis Rates to Remain the 
Same on January 1, 2021, for additional information regarding 
cannabis tax rates. For the current and prior cannabis excise 
tax mark-up rates and cultivation tax rates, see our Tax Rates 
– Special Taxes and Fees webpage under the Cannabis Taxes 
section.

Marlboro iQOS HeatSticks are 
Cigarettes Effective June 30, 2020
Marlboro iQOS HeatSticks (HeatSticks) are cigarettes under 
Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 30003, and, as 
such, shall be taxed and stamped as cigarettes in California. 
On June 30, 2020, HeatSticks were added to the California 
Tobacco Directory, which is published on the Office of Attorney 
General’s website. All cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco 
products and their manufacturers must be included on the 
California Tobacco Directory before such products may be 
lawfully distributed, sold, offered for sale, or possessed for sale 
in this state (R&TC section 30165.1(e)).

HeatSticks are rolls of tobacco wrapped in paper. HeatSticks 
qualify as cigarettes because they:

1. Come in a roll for smoking,

2. Are made in whole or part of tobacco, and

3.  The roll has a wrapper or cover that is not made mostly of 
tobacco. 

For more information about cigarette and tobacco products 
tax, licensing, and reporting requirements, please see our 
Tax Guide for Cigarette and Tobacco Products at www.cdtfa.
ca.gov/industry/cigarette-and-tobacco-products.htm. 

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cannabis.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1872
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L786.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/L786.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/tax-rates-stfd.htm/cannabis-taxes#cannabis
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cigarette-and-tobacco-products.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/cigarette-and-tobacco-products.htm
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Retailers of Trailers are Required to 
Collect the California Tire Fee

Retailers of any 
type of new or used 
trailer (for example, 
auto, horse, boat, 
equipment, fifth 
wheel, and travel 
trailers) that is towed 
on a highway or 
road are required 
to collect the tire 
fee on all new tires 
(including the spare 
tire) included with 
the sale of the trailer 

to the retail customer. Also, sales of new tires that are sold to 
retail customers as replacement tires for trailers are subject to 
the tire fee. 

For information about the California Tire Fee and how to 
register for a tire fee account, please see publication 91, 
California Tire Fee and our California Tire Fee Guide.

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION

Thank you for connecting with us.

Contact Us
Tell the CDTFA what topics you would like to see covered in 
your newsletter. You can mail your comments to the CDTFA, 
call our Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (CRS:711), 
or send a message through our website.

California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
P.O. Box 942879 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0044

Website: www.cdtfa.ca.gov/contact.htm 

Tax Practitioner Hotline: 
1-800-401-3661

Customer service representatives are available Monday 
through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except 
state holidays.

About the CDTFA: We administer California’s sales and use, 
fuel, tobacco, alcohol, and cannabis taxes, as well as a variety 
of other taxes and fees that fund specific state programs. We 
collect over $70 billion annually from CDTFA administered 
programs, which in turn supports local essential services such 
as transportation, public safety and health, libraries, schools, 
social services, and natural resource management programs 
through the distribution of tax dollars going directly to local 
communities.

Tax programs we administer are concentrated in two general 
areas – sales and use, and special taxes and fees.

To best serve our customers, we have offices throughout the 
state along with offices located in New York, Chicago, and 
Houston. While our team is spread out geographically, we are 
united in working together to serve taxpayers

Destruction of Spoiled Beer and Wine
As a beer and wine importer, beer manufacturer, or 
winegrower, your client is allowed an alcoholic beverage tax 
exemption or credit for spoiled beer or wine destroyed under 
the supervision of a CDTFA representative. They may receive: 

• An exemption on spoiled beer or wine that has not yet
been sold in California.

• A credit on beer or wine that was sold in California,
subsequently spoiled, and then returned to your client by
the wholesalers.

Alcoholic Beverage Tax Regulation 2552 provides an 
alternative for beer and wine importers to having a CDTFA-
supervised destruction when small quantities of beer or 
wine are being destroyed. In the instance of small quantities 
of beer or wine being destroyed, it allows a beer and wine 
importer to receive written approval for unsupervised 
destruction of the beer or wine when the quantity being 
destroyed as spoilage is 2,500 gallons or less (or 1,500 
gallons or less of champagne or sparkling wine by volume). 
The request must be approved prior to destruction. 

After receiving the CDTFA’s approval, and after the beer or 
wine is destroyed, the beer and wine importer is required to 
submit a declaration of destruction, signed under penalty 
of perjury, by a person of authority in the beer and wine 
importer’s organization who witnessed the destruction.

For more information, please see Regulation 2552, and our 
Tax Guide for Alcoholic Beverage.

Distilled Spirits and Wine Sold for 
Industrial Uses 
There is an alcoholic beverage tax exemption for the sales 
of alcohol, distilled spirits, and wine sold by distilled spirits 
manufacturers, brandy manufacturers, rectifiers, industrial 
alcohol dealers, or wine growers for industrial uses, but only 
when it is sold in packages with a capacity larger than one 
gallon. 

Alcohol, distilled spirits, or wine used in the manufacture of any 
of the following is considered an industrial use, if the products 
are unfit for beverage use: 

• Medicinal, pharmaceutical, or antiseptic products (such
as hand sanitizer), including prescriptions compounded by
registered pharmacists

• Toilet products

• Flavoring extracts

• Syrups (Sirups)

• Food products

• Scientific, chemical, or industrial products

For more information, please see our Tax Guide for Alcoholic 
Beverage.

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub91.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/ca-tire-fee.htm
https://www.facebook.com/CDTFA/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/cdtfa/?trk=top_nav_home%20
https://twitter.com/cdtfa
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChhR8089KCKrv2p4bbipu8w
https://www.instagram.com/cdtfa/
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/contact.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/abtr/abtr-reg2552.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/lawguides/vol3/abtr/abtr-reg2552.html
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/alcoholic-beverage-tax.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/alcoholic-beverage-tax.htm
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/alcoholic-beverage-tax.htm



