CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF TAX AND FEE ADMINISTRATION 450 N STREET, SACRAMENTO, CA PO BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO, CA 94279-0031 1-916-327-4207 • FAX 1-916-324-2554 www.cdtfa.ca.gov



GAVIN NEWSON Governor NICOLAS MADUROS Director

December 18, 2023

Honorable Nancy Skinner, Chair Joint Legislative Budget Committee 1020 N Street, room 553

Sacramento, CA 95814

Attention: Mr. Hans Hemann

Re: Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act Law Section 22990.7, Annual Report to the Legislature

Dear Chairwoman Skinner:

Pursuant to the requirements of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act Law Section 22990.7, this report summarizes the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration's data about whether the annual licensing fee funding levels are set at an appropriate level to maintain an effective enforcement program for the *Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003*. This report includes the total revenue collected and total cost incurred during Fiscal Year 2022-23, as well as the beginning and ending balances of the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Compliance Fund (3067).

Beginning Fund 3067 Balance (Adjusted):	\$ 9,357,529
FY 2022-23 Revenue Collected:	\$ 10,066,003
FY 2022-23 CDTFA Administrative Cost:	-\$ 7,618,451
FY 2022-23 State Expenses:	-\$ 1,123,710
Ending Fund 3067 Balance:	\$ 10,681,371

If you have questions regarding this report, please contact the Financial Management Branch at (916) 309-1251.

Sincerely,

mares

Nicolas Maduros Director

NM: jt1

The Honorable Stephen C. Padilla, Chair, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review, Subcommittee #4 The Honorable Anthony Portantino, Chair, Senate Committee on Appropriations The Honorable Anna Caballero, Chair, Senate Governance and Finance Committee The Honorable Jesse Gabriel, Chair, Assembly Committee on Budget The Honorable Sharon Quirk-Silva, Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee #5 The Honorable Chris R. Holden, Chair, Assembly Committee on Appropriations The Honorable Jacui Irwin. Chair. Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation Mr. Chris Hill, Department of Finance Mr. Jack Wyatt, Department of Finance Ms. Erika Contreras, Secretary of the Senate Mr. Seth Kerstein, Legislative Analyst's Office Mr. Hugh Slayden, Assistant Chief Clerk of the California State Assembly Ms. Sue Parker, Office of the Chief Clerk of the California State Assembly Mr. Hans Hemann, Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Mr. Scott Ogus, Deputy Staff Director, Senate Budget Fiscal and Review Committee Mr. Mark McKenzie, Staff Director, Senate Appropriations Committee Mr. Colin Grinnell. Staff Director. Senate Governance and Finance Committee Mr. Christian Griffith, Chief Consultant, Assembly Budget Subcommittee #5 Mr. Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Appropriations Mr. Irene Ho, Principal Consultant, Assembly Committee on Appropriations Mr. M. David Ruff, Chief Consultant, Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee Legislative Counsel Bureau, Office of Legislative Counsel, Indexing Division Legislative Analyst's Office Ms. Trista Gonzalez (MIC 104) Ms. Michele Linton (MIC 105) Mr. Jason Mallet (MIC 25) Ms. Susanne Buehler (MIC 43) Mr. Brad Miller (MIC 92)

Ms. Aimee Olhiser (MIC 75)

Ms. Sandy Barrow (MIC 31)