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VIA INTERNET 

Dear Interested Party: 

The Compliance Policy and Procedures Manual (CPPM) is a guide for the California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration (CDTF A) staff in administering tax and fee programs. It 1s 
available to the public and can be accessed from the CDTF A web page at 
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/staxmanuals.htm. 

The Business Tax and Fee Division is proposing to add CPPM sections 110.020 - 110.030 to 
incorporate information about the Lumber Products Assessment and the Prepaid Mobile Telephony 
Services Surcharge. 

The revision material is provided on the following pages for the convenience of interested parties who 
may wish to submit comments or suggestions. Please feel free to publish this information on your 
website or otherwise distribute it to your association/members. 

If you have any comments or suggestions related to the proposed CPPM revisions, you may contact 
the CDTFA at CPPM.RevisionSuggestions@boe.ca.gov. Your comments or suggestions must be 
received by the CDTFA no later than December 4, 2017, in order to be considered by staff. Thank 
you for your consideration. 

Sincerely, 

Trista Gonzaler , 
Tax Policy Bureau 
Business Tax and Fee Division 
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LUMBER PRODUCTS ASSESSMENT 110.020 
Beginning January 1, 2013, purchases of lumber products and engineered wood 
products for use in California are subject to a one percent (1%) assessment based on 
the selling price of the product.  Retailers must separately state the amount of the 
assessment on a sales receipt provided to the purchaser.  In addition to retailers, the 
law affects purchasers, including construction contractors, who use these products in 
California. 

Effective January 1, 2015, retailers selling less than $25,000 of qualifying lumber 
products during the previous calendar year are not required to register and collect the 
assessment from their customers.  However, they may choose to do so voluntarily.  If 
they do not voluntarily collect the assessment, they are still required to track their 
annual sales to determine whether or not they will be required to collect the 
assessment during the following year.  Retailers who do not collect the assessment are 
also required to notify purchasers that the purchasers must pay the assessment 
directly to the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA). 

Retailers may retain up to $250 of the amount of assessments collected from 
customers for each business location registered under the retailer’s seller’s permit as 
of January 1, 2013, as reimbursement for start-up costs per Lumber Products 
Assessment (LPA) Regulation 2000, Retailer Reimbursement Retention.  Beginning 
January 1, 2014, retailers eligible to retain reimbursement for start-up costs may 
retain an additional $485 per business location as reimbursement for start-up costs 
as outlined in LPA Regulation 2001, Additional Allowed Retailer Reimbursement 
Retention. 

The lumber products assessment funds various agencies including the Department of 
Forestry and Fire Protection to reduce the costs of wildland fire suppression, reduce 
greenhouse gas emissions, promote adaptation of forested landscapes to changing 
climate, improve forest health, and protect homes and communities.  The CDTFA is 
responsible for administering this assessment pursuant to the Fee Collection 
Procedure Law.  The Lumber Products Assessment industry guide provides detailed 
information and resources and is available to the public on the CDTFA’s website. 

PREPAID MOBILE TELEPHONY SERVICES SURCHARGE 110.030 
Effective January 1, 2016, a Prepaid Mobile Telephony Services (MTS) Surcharge is 
imposed on consumers of prepaid wireless services and products (e.g., prepaid 
wireless plans, prepaid wireless airtime cards) purchased in a retail transaction in 
California.  Sellers of prepaid wireless services and products are required to charge 
and collect the surcharge at the time of the sale. 

Under the law, a seller is defined as a person who sells prepaid MTS to another person 
in a retail transaction.  This includes 1) indirect sellers, such as third-party retailers, 
and 2) direct sellers.  A direct seller includes a telecommunication service supplier 
who sells prepaid MTS directly to consumers.  Prepaid MTS sellers other than direct 
sellers who sell prepaid MTS to consumers are typically referred to as “indirect 
sellers.”  Registration, filing, and reporting requirements for indirect sellers are 
different than those for direct sellers. 

Prepaid MTS sellers (other than direct sellers) may retain 2% of the prepaid MTS 
surcharge collected as reimbursement for their costs of collecting the surcharge. 

https://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/lumber_products.html
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Small Seller Exemption 

Effective January 1, 2017, indirect sellers with less than $15,000 of sales of prepaid 
MTS in the previous calendar year are not required to collect the prepaid MTS 
surcharge from their customers.  However, they are required to maintain adequate 
records of their prepaid MTS sales to establish that they qualify for the small seller 
exemption.  The $15,000 threshold is subject to adjustment annually. 

Lifeline Exemption 

Purchases from direct sellers by certain consumers of prepaid MTS, either alone or in 
combination with mobile data or other services, may be exempt under the state or 
federal lifeline program. To qualify, the prepaid consumer must be certified as eligible 
for the state or federal lifeline program, and the seller must be authorized to provide 
lifeline service under the state or federal lifeline program.  The exemption is applied 
only to the amount paid for the portion of the prepaid mobile telephony service that 
the lifeline program specifies is exempt from the surcharges and fees that comprise the 
prepaid MTS surcharge. 

Prepaid MTS Surcharge Rate 

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) is required to 
calculate the prepaid MTS surcharge rate annually, and will post the combined total of 
the prepaid MTS surcharge rate and local rate(s) for each jurisdiction by December 1 
of each year, to be effective the following January 1.  Any new local charges and 
adjustments to existing local charges will be posted to the CDTFA’s website by March 
1 and will be effective on April 1.  A detailed breakdown of the current individual rates 
for the prepaid 911 surcharge, California Public Utilities Commission surcharges, and 
a separate listing of local charges are available on the CDTFA’s website. 

The term “prepaid MTS surcharge” refers to all three components of the surcharge: 
amounts for the emergency telephone users (prepaid 911) surcharge, the California 
Public Utilities Commission reimbursement fee and universal service surcharges, and 
any local charges imposed on prepaid MTS. 

There is additional information in the Prepaid Mobile Telephony Services (MTS) 
Surcharge guide on the CDTFA’s website. 

https://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/prepaid_mts_surcharge.html
https://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/prepaid_mts_surcharge.html
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